Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a friend ask me a question I couldn't answer. Basically it boils down to this:
Can an enemy unit move through your unit, assuming of course that there is space between individual models?
Example: His unit was falling back and was stretched to the coherency limit. The enemy unit then moved "through" his unit to get within assault range of a DIFFERENT unit while keeping the falling back unit within 6". (Hoped that made sense... let me know if it didn't.)
While there doesn't seem to be anything that I can find in the BGB regarding this, it seems a bit odd. I suppose that could be because the person who did this likes to make up interesting little rules to help himself out. Like his assertion that jetbikes can't TurboBoost OVER difficult terrain. *shrug*
Speaking of that, one of his "rules" included the elusive "If you can't claim a cover save, you don't have to take a Difficult Terrain test" rule. Now, personally, I think this is bunk. I mean, if you roll high enough to walk THROUGH a small forest, you can't claim the cover save, but you STILL have to roll DT test. Am I right in assuming that he's wrong on this one?
And as for the previous question, is there any rule that says one way or another whether you can or can't do that?
As always, many thanks!
No, you can't. The rulebook states that you can't move a model closer than 1" away from your opponent's models in the Movement Phase, so as long as your opponent's unit is in coherency, they're too close together to move between them.
As for cover, the easiest thing to do is resolve before the game what's difficult terrain, what's impassable terrain, and what gives you what kind of cover save. That way there's no argument later. If you move into, out of or through difficult terrain, you take the test.
"HQ, my LOS is blocked by a soda bottle. I'm moving to unmask my guns."
"Negative! The soda bottle is the Carnifex!"
"Dang proxy models!"
-Cmdr. Kren, www.tsoalr.com
You may not move within one inch of an enemy model unless you're assaulting that model. With coherency being 2 inches there's no way to go between 2 models without being within one inch of one of them.
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
hey! There it is! I knew I saw something in there about that!!! Thanks for pointing it out, guys!!!
BGB pg 15. Last sentence of the second paragraph under "Movement Distance"
I am always happy to ask questions like this on this board. Everyone is extremely helpful to us newbies! Thanks again guys!!!
Yes you can move through enemy units as long as you follow the following three rules:Originally Posted by Wumpus23
1. There must be enough space between the enemy models for the base of your models to pass. If there isn't a large enough gap then you can't make the move.
2. You cannot end your movement within 1" of an enemy model.
3. You must remain in coherency.As long as the assaulting unit shot the unit they are attempting to assault and they meet the rules stated above what he did seems legal.Originally Posted by Wumpus23I have not found anything to contradict this use of the rules. However, the turbo thing is complete incorrect.Originally Posted by Wumpus23Correct. Difficult terrain must be rolled DURING movement whenever necessary. Cover only takes effect AFTER movement. So if you move through cover but end your move out in the open you get no cover bonus. There are also times when a difficult terrain test is required but the terrain offers no cover bonus whatsoever. If a unit is walking through a stream they must make difficult terrain roll but get no cover save from the stream itself.Originally Posted by Wumpus23
I hope I answered some of your questions.
Edit: Darn, I waited too long to hit Save and people beat me to the answers.
I believe the 1" rule is you cannot END your movement within 1" of an opposing model. I'm pretty sure this is the rule unless 4th edition changed it. If so, then what I said is true and you can move through an enemy unit as long as you can move far enough.
Last edited by LordCreampuff; December 16th, 2005 at 17:12.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
Without a book here in front of me, I agree with LordCremepuff. It seems to me that the rule is still that you cannot end the movement within 1", but that you can become within 1" during the move.
Alas, the aforementioned rule does specifically say that you can't more within 1" of an enemy during the movement phase.
Now, looking at it in context with the previous paragraph, I AM more willing to accept it, given that the previous paragraph was specifically mentioning eventual placement of moving models. I just think that I am wont to go with the more strict rule due to the fact that it makes movement a little quicker in the way of proximity to an enemy unit. Don't get too close to the enemy unit at any time excluding assault.
I want to apologize for "arguing" the point with you guys who are always so damned helpful (especially Lord Creampuff who has answered many a stupid question from me!!!) so please forgive my impertinence!!!
And thanks again for your responses!
No need to apologize for anything. Arguing rules is half the fun. I don't think I have played a game yet where something didn't arise that my opponent and I did not see eye to eye on. I'm pretty sure its something of an inside joke amongst the games-workshop employees, and I would not be surprised at all to learn that those bloody Brits don't have two versions of the rulebook. The clearly written version where everything is covered and the version they send to us "yanks." :tongue: :tongue: :tongue:
Dude, our rulebook is just as deliberately obfuscating as yours.
The answer to the original question is technically yes, but in practice no. You may not move closer than 1" to an enemy model (unless you are assaulting), and since the squad coherency distance is 2", in practice there is simply no room to move through them.
However, if you were playing against Harlequins, who have their own special squad coherency rules (they only have to be within 4" of each other), then yes, you could move through their units.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.