Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If an Independant Character joins a squad of 4 people, then the IC and 1 of the people die, is the IC counted for determining if they're below quarter strength? Is his death still figured in later, to determine if they're below half strength?
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
If the character and one other dies, the squad (as a whole) has taken 25% casualties and must take a morale check.
For the purposes of being below half strength, you use the number of the models in the squad itself, not counting the independent character (he is technically a separate squad).
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
That’s a really good question. Probably going to be some conflict over this one. I would say that the loss of an IC that has joined a unit, would count towards the 25% losses required for a morale check, simply due to the wording of the morale check on PG 47. It mentions losing models.
As for the unit being below 50%for regrouping purposes, it states that it’s original strength on PG 49, which would mean that the IC doesn’t count for that purpose, as the original unit was only 4 models large. It did then add an IC, but that’s not part of the original unit.
Hope that helps.
**Damn, beaten to it again.
Last edited by Daedelus; December 16th, 2005 at 17:59.
his death from a shooting attack /his prescence in the shooting phase would contribute to the determining whether 25% casualties have been taken.
this is only one of two times that his presence affects the size of the squad that he has joined ( the other being determining outnumbering in combat).
he wont count for below half st purposes for objective taking cause he's an IC, and wont count towards the 50%+ required for rally.
the only difference/complication i would see here is with imperial guard command squads (all of them) as with every other IC you have to buy their comand squad/bodyguard retinue sepperately,
you don't with the guard each officer comes with 4 other guys attached to him so in this case yes the IC would count as long as this is his original squad and not one he'd joined later in the game.
WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)