Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey everyone. Just got back from the shop. I left because two people were arguing if its legal to make a Turbo Boost move with Ork Outriders when Scouting or not. I got fed up and left, but I'd like to hear your opinions.
I would say "Yes, they are able to Turboboost." The Scouts ability only says they get a Free Move with all normal Movement rules applied, but doesn't place a restriction on how far they may move, which leads you to assume they can move at any pace avaliable to them normally.
That is all assuming that Ork Outriders actually have the "Scouts" special characteristic as written in the BGB, and not some strange funky rule inherent to themselves.
Hmm. According to the old Armageddon codex which brought out the Ork Outriders, they get a free 2d6" move. Not a free move. So, I'd say, no they can't go 24", unless its in the faq. Hold on, I'll check and edit this in a sec. The scouts universal rule would probably take precedence though, but the randomness of this is certainly very orky.
Nevertheless, I think Caluin is right as the Black book is newer than the old codex.
Last edited by Grey; December 16th, 2005 at 22:37.
"No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.
Fluff Master Clan initiate.
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.
"Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.
New 40K missions here.
again if they have that free scout move then they may move up to 24'' in their free move. but this isnt always a good thing cause your supposed to do this,
and correct me if im wrong here guys im running from memory
but your supposed to do this BEFORE you roll for the first turn. not after as then you would be potentially on the other side of the table and your opponent wouldn't be able to do anything about it.
and if your opponent did get the first turn then it would only be right that he should be able to punish the offending unit for it's brashness.
so it really could be a double edged tactic.
WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)
The other player was probally a SM player, correct? Because the SM scout bikes can't turbo for their scout.
Anyway, the universal rules don't say anything about it but I'm going to have to go with no. They get the scout move as listed in their unit entry in the codex. If it would have changed to be the universal special rules scout move, they would have mentioned it in the FAQ, as they did for the Mixed armor special rule, or the listing of special rules in the space wolves FAQ.