Heors of the past and present - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Heors of the past and present

    Ok i have a genralized question about Special charcters from past rule books and in genral.

    1) are they leagle in tourniment play? I have a tau army baised around Commander Farsight, and want to know if his special rules wil still apply with the up comeing re-vamp'ed printing of the Tau Codex.

    2) in relation to the previous question, in the last SM codex, the Emperors Chosen's flavor text stated that every army had a chosen, but in the latest printings, only the Black templars have such a charcter. Can any SM army still have one?

    3 (and final)) this is a noob question but has caused some debate amongest my gamewing club, Poits cost. Say a Special charcter that can only be taken in an army of 1500 points cost 200pts. dose this mean that he can be addeed to an army of 1300pts to make up the 1500, or does the poits cost have to be filled and his addinge would cause the army total to be 1700?

    thanks!

    Vindicor's note to self: Shoot the guy with the banner pole...

    ...after a long day of battle rituals, prayer, and sparing... Even the mighty Wolf Lord Logan Grimnar retires to his chambers where he secretly reads "Imperium Today" while haveing Tea and a slice of Pie...

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    ok these are fairly simple

    1)only if he is represented in the new codex as such will he be classed as a special character.

    2)No only black templars can have the emporers champion.

    3)if you agree 1500pts then yes he can be used in this size of game so long as it says so in his profile you don't have to have 1500pts before you add him, cause then it'd be a 1700pt game.

    point to note on that last one, only special characters who have the;

    may only be used in games of XXXXpts

    can be used WITHOUT your opponents permission.

    For special characters who DO NOT have this type of statement in their profile you must still ASK your opponent's permission to use them.
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  4. #3
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    For special characters who DO NOT have this type of statement in their profile you must still ASK your opponent's permission to use them.
    Where's the ruling on this?

    It's always been my belief that there are two "types" of special characters; those that require your opponent's consent, and those that do not.

    Those that do must state that they do; you don't assume that they do. Those that don't, obviously, do not state you need your opponent's permission.

    Just wondering.

    @Lord Aris - Special characters can and can't be tourney legal; like Chapter Approved and other things, it depends on the people/shop organising the tournament, so I'd suggest that you ask them prior to putting a special character into your tourney lists.

    When it says that the special character must be in an army of, say, 1500 points or above, and say that they cost 200 points, then yes, you can include them in an army of 1300 points; when it says they must be included in a 1500+ point army, that means the total army cost, not the army without the special character included. If you are playing a 1500 point game, the character may be included, etc.

    As for the other question, as said, no. Don't treat the little bits of fluff and such as rules in the codecies/rulebooks; they are not rules. Only the rules are rules, and if it does not state you may take a unit in a certain army (by the rulebook, codex, or Chapter Approved), then you cannot.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    It's always been my belief that there are two "types" of special characters; those that require your opponent's consent, and those that do not.

    correct those that dont are the ones that are listed as only able to be played in games of xxxxpts

    those that you do require your opponents permission to play with dont have this statement.

    as for wheres it written check your codex's

    eg the eldar codex lists at what pointage all the special characters can be used yes?

    go to the phoenix lords pages.
    now look at the black witing on the left hand side of the page.

    this is unfortunetly another oversight on Gw's part as they are continuing rules from 3rd ed into 4th without actually printing them, theyre just taking for granted that people know when to ask and when you don't need to.

    thankfully most of the reprints do state game pointages for characters, the main one off the top of my head that doesn't is the necrons.
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    point to note on that last one, only special characters who have the;

    may only be used in games of XXXXpts

    can be used WITHOUT your opponents permission.

    For special characters who DO NOT have this type of statement in their profile you must still ASK your opponent's permission to use them.
    Do you have any type of reference to back that statement up? As far as I've ever heard, there are two kinds of special characters - those that state you must have opponent's permission, and those that have no such statement.

    GW started phasing out the "Requires Opponent's Permission" rules awhile back - I think when they first printed the Necron codex. The idea was that they are actually taking the time to playtest and balance the characters now, so you won't find any cheap, under costed super game breaking heros.


  7. #6
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    OK to put it bluntly guys, you are not comparing like to like, the chances of GW getting anything consitant accross all codecies are pretty much nil.

    Special character can be considered in at least 2 ways - one of which is "Does the rule state you need you opponents permision?" if it doesnt, then you dont

    Another is when you need under or over so many points to field the character, if this is stated you must also comply with this.

    In most cases the two do coincide, but for any given Character, you need to comply with all rulings
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    The FAQ update for Tyranids states that "you do NOT need your player's permission to use Old One Eye and Red Terror. They count as 1 Heavy Support slot and 1 Fast Attack slot respectively. You can only field one of each, and still have to follow the point restrictions"

    This is an exception to the usual rules. The precedent is that the latest Codex (technically latest publication) is what you go by and it overrides any previous ones.

    The 4th ed. Codex mentions nothing about One Eye and Terror. They were 3rd edition. However, interesting to note that that the FAQ did not say you didn't need the opponent's permission to bring 'Leaper'.

    Combine the two and you come to the following conclusion:

    - Unless it's printed in the latest Codex (or FAQ), you CANNOT bring an older Hero without your opponent's permission.
    - If it IS printed in the latest Codex, you do not need their permission unless it says so (examples would be those in the Eldar Codex).
    - Regardless of permission or not, you MUST follow the restrictions listed for them (most commonly point thresholds).

    Hope that clears things up.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts