Relics and Artefacts - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Grandmaster Adek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In your imagination. (I rhyme)
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Relics and Artefacts

    In the Space Marine Codex, under relics and artefacts, it says, "Each army may have a single item from this list."
    But from what I've seen and heard, it sounds like these items are merely 0-1.
    What is the real deal?

    Lord Baal of the Ordo Sanguinius Clan



  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    The items are 0-1 from the whole list.

    So for example you can't have an iron halo and an adamantine mantle.

    Its one or none.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #3
    Boiiing! Knape97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    Those two phrases mean the same thing...

    you may select one of those items from the list (per army)

    so you can have 0 of them, or 1 of them.

    That is from the whole list though, you can't take 1 of each item on the list.

    Knape

  5. #4
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Knape97 and The_Outsider have given you the simple answer. There is a more advanced answer though, which is : it depends which codex you read.

    The UK and US versions work like the previous answers, i.e. you may only take one out of the whole list. However, the French codex states that you may only take one of each item from the list. So go and play in France, and you can give your Brother-Captain a 4+ invulnerable save and immunity to Instant Death.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  6. #5
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Anacron
    The UK and US versions work like the previous answers, i.e. you may only take one out of the whole list. However, the French codex states that you may only take one of each item from the list. So go and play in France, and you can give your Brother-Captain a 4+ invulnerable save and immunity to Instant Death.
    Hmmm, I've heard that the french have made other errors, though. Like the v4 Eldar FAQ allowing units disembarking from wave serpents to assault (this came out in a discussion with a french Eldar player).

    I'm starting to think that GW doesn't get the right people to translate their products...

    So you only get a single item from that list. No subsidies for French space marines, I'm afraid


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  7. #6
    Member Grandmaster Adek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In your imagination. (I rhyme)
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Anacron
    Knape97 and The_Outsider have given you the simple answer. There is a more advanced answer though, which is : it depends which codex you read.

    The UK and US versions work like the previous answers, i.e. you may only take one out of the whole list. However, the French codex states that you may only take one of each item from the list. So go and play in France, and you can give your Brother-Captain a 4+ invulnerable save and immunity to Instant Death.
    Sweet. Oh, wait, I can't speak/read/write a lick of French.
    It was a White Dwarf or discussion somewhere on LO that led me to believe that my original thought (which was 0-1 item from the entire list, not 1 ea.) was wrong. Thanks for clarification!

    In regards to 4+ invul and ID invul, there's always a Master of Sanctity...:yes:
    Lord Baal of the Ordo Sanguinius Clan



  8. #7
    Too Sexy For My Whirlwind Sabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Edmonton,AB
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x3)

    The reason that was phrased that way was because technically you can take one item from that list per Force Org. Chart (also known as a "Detachment" or "Army"). So if you have two force org's you could take an iron halo and an adamantine mantle, but they would have to be on different char's as they would have to stay on their home Force org. chart.
    And before someone tries to argue that i've actually seen this printed in a WD...or maybe it was CA...I'll go check, but either way that is the way it works.

  9. #8
    Member Grandmaster Adek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In your imagination. (I rhyme)
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sabe
    The reason that was phrased that way was because technically you can take one item from that list per Force Org. Chart (also known as a "Detachment" or "Army"). So if you have two force org's you could take an iron halo and an adamantine mantle, but they would have to be on different char's as they would have to stay on their home Force org. chart.
    And before someone tries to argue that i've actually seen this printed in a WD...or maybe it was CA...I'll go check, but either way that is the way it works.
    It seems like a pretty logical conclusion. That's also how I took it. I didn't mention this part because I don't usually play with more than 1 detatchment. But I would agree with you: the more Marines in one place, the more likelyhood that there is more special stuff.
    Lord Baal of the Ordo Sanguinius Clan



  10. #9
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork
    I'm starting to think that GW doesn't get the right people to translate their products...
    My friend (who lives in Caen) came to the opposite conclusion - since apparently there are a few other differences, some very easy-to-understand rules explanations, and plenty of places where mistakes in ours are not mistakes in theirs, he concluded that the people who translate the codices/rulebooks do a lot better job than the people who write them in the first place. :lol:
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts