Deathwatch Units - Tournament Legal, Yay or Nay? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Boiiing! Knape97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    Deathwatch Units - Tournament Legal, Yay or Nay?

    Hey all

    In UK WD 306 there was a chapter approved article giving SM and IG players the option to include a deathwatch killteam as a 0-1 HQ choice.

    Now, looking through some tournament rules, they state that "allies may not be used". Now, this obviously stops SMs from allying with WH or DH, but what about the kill teams.

    Do the kill teams count (rule wise, not fluff wise) as an allied squad, or are thy simply an "extra" type of squad that can be taken.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    they would be classed as a allied unit, as the deathwatch come from the ordo xenos.

    they will be the equivalent of the grey knights for the deamonhunters.

    so you won't be able to field them in any army except;

    witch hunters and deamon hunters and only then when there are no other power armoured units on the field.
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Fluff-wise, I have to agree with you Decado.
    Rules-wise, however (and this may be flawed, as I can't put my hands on my DH codex at the moment):
    It specifically states that DH are taken as allies in the DH Codex (about 99% sure of this, but see disclaimer).
    DW, and I quote are:
    ...Up to one Kill-Team can be included in any Imperium army as an HQ choice...For this purpose, an Imperium army will consist of...
    There is no mention in the rules, whatsoever, that the KT is an allied squad. Merely that they are an HQ choice for any applicable army.

    Thus (I say) they are legal in tourneys (or We Stand Alone armies for that matter) which prohibit allies.

    I'd still check with the organisers though.

    The real question is this though:
    Can a DW Kill-Team be your compulsory HQ choice. I see nothing in the rules which says that it can't, unlike DH/WH allies which state that any compulsory choices must come from the parent list.
    Last edited by Corianis; December 30th, 2005 at 08:13.
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

  5. #4
    LO Zealot MobiusPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Corianis
    The real question is this though:
    Can a DW Kill-Team be your compulsory HQ choice. I see nothing in the rules which says that it can't, unlike DH/WH allies which state that any compulsory choices must come from the parent list.
    Imperial Guard Command Squads is a 1 choice. No more, no less. They must ALWAYS include one command squad (except in 40K in 40mins, they are exceptionalized).

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts