scarabs and wraiths - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    41
    Posts
    381
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    scarabs and wraiths

    The question is..(drum roll)...do you guys think scarabs and wraiths get turbo boost? Their entries in the dex are not the same as destroyers and Heavy D's. D and HD's says something like "act as" jet bikes. Wraiths and Scarabs say "treated as JB for movement purposes". Some people are inclined to think "Act As" means they get the toughness bonus in addition to the turbo boost and "treated as" is just turbo boost. Others think wraiths and scarabs just get the 12 inch move and that is it.
    I play at two different stores and I have to change tactics for each since one allows turbo boost and the other does not.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    yes, they do, people say necrons are slow but anything that doesn't move 6" can move up to 24". Wraiths and scarabs are now so much better and make the perfect flankers that they intended to be.

  4. #3
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Whether they are acting as Jetbikes, or treated as Jetbikes, either way, they move like Jetbikes.

    And Jetbikes may turbo boost, any which way you look at.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    it's not a turbo boost though, as jetbikes may always move up to 24'' so you won't get the invulnerable save
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    it's not a turbo boost though, as jetbikes may always move up to 24'' so you won't get the invulnerable save
    No, they can't...

    Normal move = 12". Turbo boost up to 24".

    Quote Originally Posted by BGB, page 54
    Jetbikes can move up to 12" in the Movement phase instead of the normal 6" move.
    Quote Originally Posted by BGB, page 54
    All bikes can use the Turbo Boosters special rule.

  7. #6
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Thats how the law is laid down friends!

    LN has got it right (I would have tried to correct it but its 1:30 in the morning here in england and I honestly couldn't be bothered)

  8. #7
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    Was there some implication that either wraiths or scarabs get a T bonus? I'm pretty sure that's taking it too far. The scarabs get an invulnerable save when they turbo-boost, too, right? Redundant for Wariths, i know.
    It's also just occured to me that a destroyer lord with a warscythe makes a formidable threat- 24" move, 3+ inv when he does and T6. Crikey.
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  9. #8
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    no they can always move 24'' as they are skimmers

    but i was wrong they do get an invulnerable save, (aghhhh too many rules systems in me head:w00t: )
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  10. #9
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    no they can always move 24'' as they are skimmers

    but i was wrong they do get an invulnerable save, (aghhhh too many rules systems in me head:w00t: )
    Who do you mean here? The Scarabs get no inv? If so, what made you change wour mind? Or the lord gets no inv for turbo movement?
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  11. #10
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Lost Nemesis defined the rule, decado seems to me to be confusing turb boost for something else.

    They get the invulnerable save.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts