Emperors Champion - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Senior Member DominionWeaponsGroup's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    29
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -66 (x0)

    Emperors Champion

    In the Black Templars Codex, it says that the Emperors Champ doesnt take an HG slot, so how many can I bring?

    Take life seriously, its lethal.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Son of LO strewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    139 (x8)

    He is a special character, so just 1...

    ~Moved to 40k rules questions from WHFB rules questions~
    The LO ANZAC Clan!

    The Pirate's Haven BFG clan! Breathe life into this fantastic GW system.

  4. #3
    Senior Member DominionWeaponsGroup's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    29
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -66 (x0)

    i dont remember seeing that in the codex, is that in a FAQ?
    Take life seriously, its lethal.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Brother Ares's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Who knows, but its dark and cold here
    Age
    26
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    champion

    I agree with strewart. But I would only use one, y would you want t ouse more than that:wacko:
    «Ares is the only way to be happy.»

    Know Arise a Knight, and go forth and take your vengence

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by strewart
    He is a special character, so just 1...

    ~Moved to 40k rules questions from WHFB rules questions~
    In the past, he may have been a special character, but in the current BT codex, he isn't. He is simply a mandatory (at 750+ points) model that is listed in the HQ section, but doesn't count towards the HQ limit.

    There is no clear statement that limits you to only one, but I would only ever field one, anyways. In the codex, the EC is always referred to singularly; no plurals, etc., for an army.

    I could see why you'd want multiple ones, for multiple vows, but that's just pushing it a bit.

  7. #6
    Senior Member DominionWeaponsGroup's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    29
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -66 (x0)

    i might bring 2-3 in 1850 or more. Especially if i could bring extra vows.
    Take life seriously, its lethal.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x0)

    you can only take one, thanks to the english language.

    and you may only take one Vow

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    31
    Posts
    771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -61 (x0)

    Er, nothing about the way the Codex is written implies that you may only have one. It's a nice thought, but it's just not there.

    Not even the use of the definite article necessarily implies this (as I think has been suggested before).

  10. #9
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    You can only take one EC and one vow for the BTs. All the references in the C:BT are to a single EC, both in the rules and in the fluff. Taking more than one is cheating no matter how you justify it.

  11. #10
    Senior Member DominionWeaponsGroup's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    29
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -66 (x0)

    look, it never says you can only have one. there would really need to be some sort of stated exception to the rules since the champion really appears to be an HQ choice that doesnt take a slot on the force chart. But its nice to know that you think people who dont play by your made-up rules are cheaters.
    Take life seriously, its lethal.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts