Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When a Librarian casts FotA, does he have to have LOS to the spot on the board edge he is casting it to?
The text for FotA does not specifically exempt him from not having LOS, and by the Psychic rules in the basic book, Psychic powers follow the same rules as shooting unless specifically exempted.
That's well and good, but is there a section in the rules that backs that up?
Apparently I was wrong it only goes all the way across if it IS in LOS. My fault. but I corrected it so.. I request a cookie.
Thanks, that's what I thought.
Technically, though, what that means is that a non-skimmer vehicle is totally immune to FotA. This is because the spot on the board edge must be behind the vehicle for it to be hit, obviously, and that spot is thus blocked from LOS by the vehicle.
This is a RAW interpretation, and probably not what is intended. However, it is inescapably the RAW. While I'm not too fussed about it, since Space Marine Librarians are probably the most overpowered unit in the game and anything that limits their huge effectiveness is a blessing, what would be the best way to reconcile this with the RAW?
No, as you measure LOS from the models eye view, so if the librarian is on a hill with no area terrain in between, and can see over your vehicle, he can designate the point behind it.Originally Posted by RelicOMO
But, as mentioned, area terrain does block LOS, so even a corner of it will stop los.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
How do you figure that the power only works if you have LOS to a specific spot on the board edge? In the desciption on p.26 of the CM it says that it goes in a straight line to any point on any table edge. The only things that stop FotA is if it would strike a friendly unit or a unit locked in close combat. I can see the point that you need to see a unit to hit it, but there is nothing in any of the rules that says you must be able to see beyond a unit to hit it. If this were the case it would state so in the desciption for FotA. I see nothing in the BBB that says that vehicles can't be hit by FotA. Please enlighten me with a page reference if there is one.
The intention is probably that vehicles can be hit by FotA. The reference I see, though, is in the Psychic Powers section under the Characters heading in the Basic Rule Book (p52 in the small version), where it says that Psychic Powers follow the rules for Shooting unless specified otherwise.Originally Posted by Lord Malachi
FotA does not specifically exempt itself from needing LOS - it never says that it can target things that the Librarian cannot see. A side effect of this is that a vehicle would block LOS to the point on the table edge behind it, meaning that the Librarian cannot see that point and therefore cannot target it.
I used to think that FotA could target anything, even outside LOS. However, I am now starting to believe this is wrong, because it does not specify that it ignores LOS. Every other kind of attack that ignores LOS specifies that fact, and the few kinds of attacks that are similar to FotA do not ignore LOS (vibro cannons, for instance).
My understanding of FotA is that you pick a point on any board edge to simply determine the direction that the power travels. You don't target a specific unit like you do when shooting most weapons. FotA then travels in the direction chosen, hitting any units in its path until it either reaches the board edge, impassible terrain (e.g. a hill), or a friendly unit or a close combat. One could say that it would stop when hitting a vehicle, as you no longer have LOS past it, but it would still hit the vehicle. Of course the lack of an AP value means you could only cause a glancing hit, that is if the AV were low enough for the strength of FotA.
Last edited by Lord Malachi; January 16th, 2006 at 16:47.
I can see the argument here going both ways so am not sure which is correct. Fear of the Darkness does not state that it is exempt from LOS so does that mean I can't even cast it if there are no enemy units within LOS? Similarly, Vortex of Doom does not specify that it needs LOS either. But note too that of the all the offensive psychic powers, only one (Storm of the Emporer's Wrath) lists a weapon-like profile with range and weapon type. Doesn't that indicate that this is the only power that follows all the normal shooting rules? The fact that FotD, Vortex and FotA do not seems to me that means they do not follow the regular shooting rules. Considering too that the Librarian can use his psychic hood at any time to try to block every psychic power cast anywhere on the board without needing to even see the enemy psyker, I don't see why not needing LOS for these other powers is so unimaginable.