Twin Linked? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Twin Linked?

  1. #1
    Member CalgarsFinest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ashburn Virginia
    Age
    24
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Twin Linked?

    I was playing a game againts this guy who said if you have a twin linked weapon and you make one shot you get to make the other too. I thought that you just got to roll missed hits. His rule makes more sense but I don't know if it is true. Is it?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    He is incorrect.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Page 30 of the Warhammer 40K Rulebook, right hand column, bottom of the page under the heading of "Twin-Linked Weapons." Ask him to show you exactly where it says you get to make the second shot if the first one hits.

    Besides - if that were the case, why wouldn't the weapon just be labeled with the extra shot in its profile? For instance, instead of Assault 1 Twin Linked, why wouldn't it just be labeled Assault 2?


  5. #4
    Member High Priest Avion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Baal (Canada)
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Exactly, your opponent was incorrect, buy him a rulebook!

    HPA







    Records as of Jan 1st 2006:
    Blood Angels: 10-2
    Biel-Tan Eldar: 1-0
    Necrons(Recently sold)

  6. #5
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Personnaly I would tell him to buy his own!

    Whilst you are at it, point him at the eldar walkers, they have 2 identical weapons that both shoot and so are NOT called twin linked
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  7. #6
    Senior Member Blue Meanie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Does this flurry of twin-linked questions remind anyone else of this:

    http://tsoalr.com/view.php?date=2004-02-23

  8. #7
    Senior Member Ratus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Skövde, Sweden
    Age
    39
    Posts
    296
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Yeah. . . Logically, the rules for a twin-linked Lascannon should be: each successful to-hit roll causes two hits. Basically an all or nothing weapon.

    Of course, this would make a Hive Tyrant with two sets of twin-linked Devourers rather insane. 24 shots via 12 to-hit rolls. :w00t:
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  10. #9
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by High Priest Avion
    Exactly, your opponent was incorrect, buy him a rulebook!

    HPA

    buy him a rulebook and hit him with it.


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  11. #10
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    or see if he learns through osmosis. Spit in his face, then hit him with your rulesbook.

    It really saddens me how often we get that here on the forums..." I showed him the rules but he insists that they don't apply, oh, and he won't back it up with another cited rule".

    While some of it falls onto us players to police ourselves and spread info as we become aware, I believe a large factor of it sits squarely on GW's shoulders for not putting out erratas to all the changes they make (read as new printings of codexs, making you buy the new one for the new rules) and answering basic screwups (like wargear book listing termies as a 3+ 5++ save) or often questioned rules (living metal says all sources are treated the same, so powerfists shouldn't work) instead of playing by and misprinting rules (IC's joined to deepstriking squads and monoliths and...and...).

    Anyways, just my rant, sorry, carry on, nothing to see here.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts