Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can you get a cover save from an ordnance blast?
This is the scenario that happened in a recent game;
My ordnance template landed over a unit in cover.
The enemy were behind a low wall (from the tank). ie enemy, wall, empty table width, my tank.
But the line from centre of template to each enemy model didn't cross the wall. So in that regard they didn't have cover from the shrapnel.
Should the enemy have got the cover save that the dice roll said they got?
(without the cover save I would have killed 4 SM. But only got 1 because of the blimmin cover)
Ordinance that does not fire with barrage (indirectly) does succumb to cover saves. indirect ordinace has cover determined from the center of the ordinance marker. If the blast hits a tank indirectly, its always from the direction of the tank firing (most often from the front). hope this clears it up.
Quick! Wile 'es ded!
Looking at the rules it appears that ordnance is treated exactly the same as blast weapons when it comes to cover. With ordnance barrages, you follow the rules for barrage weapons.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
That makes my ordnance way less effective than I thought, but at least I'll play the rules right. :-)