Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a friend 1000 points with my Orks yesterday, and he was using lost and the damned. He had a rogue psyker (from the back of the witch hunters codex) with the power "puppet dance". This is a REALLY harsh power, as it caused all 30 orks from 1 mob to fight a round of combat against itself.
Now my question is this, for anyone that knows - Can the power be used when the psyker is in close combat? It doesn't specify you can or can't.
It says that you use it during the assault phase instead of assaulting (p. 40 C:WH). Page 52 of the BBB has the rules for Psychic powers, but it doesn't say that you can't use them in an assault. It sounds like you could use them in an assault although you wouldn't be able to make a close combat attack with that model. I would assume that initiative also comes into play so it might be possible to kill the psyker before he could use his power.
Puppet Dance sounds a lot tougher than the SM Fury of the Ancients. I'm suprised this hasn't come up sooner. Cursed chaos scum! The Emperor protects...
You know he can't actually use the powers and units from the back of the Witchhunters codex unless he's actually playing against Witch hunters. Not even if he's playing LatD. Those units and rules are only for an army fighting against witch hunters and never anyone else. So unless you personally consented to him using them when its not generally legal he was cheating.
And on a side note all three of the powers available to rogue psykers are pretty gross.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Actually, page 52 says they follow ALL shooting rules, unless specified otherwise. So, while it can be cast in the assault phase, it doesn't say it may be used in CC. Further, as pointed out, those are only usable against witchhunters. And lastly, init has nothing to do with it, since you can't cast it in the first place when in cc.Originally Posted by Lord Malachi
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
So a SM Librarian can't use Might of Heroes while in cc? It also is cast in the assault phase. Hmm, that's odd. You are correct about taking a Rouge Psyker against Orks. It can't be done unless both players had agreed to it before the game started.Originally Posted by tarzen