Dreadnought loses both arms, still 2 attacks in cc? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Dreadnought loses both arms, still 2 attacks in cc?

    Had a game the other day when my dread lost both his arms and we wondered whether or not he still had his 2 base attacks.

    The argument for was that it's in his base profile and he could still kick with his legs. However, argument against was that he attacks with his arms and thus having no arms he would have no attacks (but still said he had 1 attack on the charge).

    I thought the former was right (and not just because I was the one with the armless dreadnought).

    Thoughts?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Laplace
    Had a game the other day when my dread lost both his arms and we wondered whether or not he still had his 2 base attacks.

    The argument for was that it's in his base profile and he could still kick with his legs. However, argument against was that he attacks with his arms and thus having no arms he would have no attacks (but still said he had 1 attack on the charge).

    I thought the former was right (and not just because I was the one with the armless dreadnought).

    Thoughts?
    p 72, and 73 have your answers. Particularly the statement that armement destroyed only affect them if they are armed with 2 DCCW's which few dreads are (and if they were, would have 3 attacks) outside of stripping the power weapon part of their attacks away.

    So if your dread had all his weapons destroyed, he'd be hitting at s6 and they would get their saves vs the 2 attacks.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Thanks!

  5. #4
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Page 73 of the BBB explains. Dreadnoughts always get their base attacks even if both weapons are destroyed. Their strength would drop down to 6 though. The reference to losing an attack applies only to walkers with 2 ccw as they would normally get an extra attack.

    edit : damn, took too long to type...

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    421
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    pg 73 of the rulebook. at the top.
    also notice immobilised, shaken and stunned results also influence the number of attacks.
    MvG, Vindicator.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    8 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Laplace
    Had a game the other day when my dread lost both his arms and we wondered whether or not he still had his 2 base attacks.

    The argument for was that it's in his base profile and he could still kick with his legs. However, argument against was that he attacks with his arms and thus having no arms he would have no attacks (but still said he had 1 attack on the charge).

    I thought the former was right (and not just because I was the one with the armless dreadnought).

    Thoughts?
    Where does it say that the target gets to roll their saves??

  8. #7
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by tanglethorn
    Where does it say that the target gets to roll their saves??
    p 73. as I mentioned earlier in the post
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts