Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
(Hopefully this hasn't been asked a bajillion times, though I have a sinking feeling it probably has, even though my search didn't turn up a whole lot...)
A Hellglaive counts as both a Splinter Rifle and a CCW. Now, normally you cannot fire a rapid fire weapon AND assault another unit. However, the wording in the codex implies that the Hellglaive ignores this rule (I think):
"The hellglaive may be used as a splinter rifle or a close combat weapon, and may be used as both in the same turn." p.14 of the DE Codex
Now, my thinking for them being able to both fire and assault stems from this wording; "may be used as both in the same turn." Well, since you can't shoot in your opponent's turn and then be attacked, the only possible time you could use it as both would be in your turn. Since there's no way an enemy can assault you in your own turn, the rules would appear to say that the Hellglaive overrides the splinter rifle's rapid fire status. If this is NOT the case, the line of text detailing that you can use it as both in the same turn is completely useless, as there would never be a situation in which you could ever do so. It would be like saying a hellglaive and a lasgun work the same way.
Thoughts? Again, I apologize if everyone is hitting there heads against the table for seeing another post on what could possibly be an old argument... I'm new to DE so I'm still exploring how their rules work...
The line is a relic from 3rd edition when firing a rapid fire weapon had no limitations on one's ability to charge (unless one remained stationary to fire 24"), so in 4th edition it indeed is useless. It's just not specific enough to override the new rapid fire rules...and the opponent can argue that it refers to game turns, not player turns.
The rules for the Hellglaive were written before the 4th Edition ruleset was released. Back in 3rd Edition, one could fire a single shot from a rapid-fire weapon and still charge. This is no longer the case and the wording in the Hellglaive's rules is outdated. It follows the same rules for shooting as any other rapid-fire weapon.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
Originally Posted by ArchonAstaroth
man, i'm getting a sense of deja vu here...
Thanks for the answers, guys!