Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I tried searching for this but didn't turn up much...
When vehicles are taken as a squadron (e.g. a squadron of 3 IG sentinels), how are they targeted for shooting purposes? Do they count as a squad or as individual units? I'm curious whether or not an opponent could take down an entire squadron with a single volley or if they would need to target each vehicle separately and take them down one by one.
They are counted as a squad, so hits are distributed as any squad would. It is possible to down them in one volley.
So a devastator squad could easily kill 3 sentinals in a single shooting phase.
Though slightly unlike infantry where you must remove models as soon as possible and can't distribute wounds around, in a unit of vehicles, each vehicle must receive at least one before a vehicle can receive two.
Eg. 3 Sentinels get hit with 4 venom cannon hits. Two sentinels would receive one hit and one sentinel would receive 2 hits.
Or. 3 Sentinels get hit with 2 venom cannon hits. Two sentinels would receive one hit and the other sentinel would receive 0 hits.
So hits sort of wrap around the number of models in the unit.
I hope you can understand all that it is in the rulebook after all
This is incorrect, as long as there is enough wounds/damage done (at least one per model) everyine must take a hit, you cannot avoid wounding one model by dumping the wounds on another.Originally Posted by Solo
So a sentinel squadron of 3 models suffers 4 wounds (well, rolls on damage chart) 3 would suffer one roll while the 4th would receive 2 rolls.
Again, its all in the BGB.
Originally Posted by The_Outsider
No he was correct, you quoted him saying "squadorn of three takes 2 hits, 2 vehicles take a hit and the third does not" That is 100% correct.
Whoa! That was a bit confusing! I was just trying to give the two situations that you could find youself in to explain it all. And as you said it is in the section about vehicle squadrons taking hits (vehicle section of rulebook)
The simplest and best thing to do is usually reference the appropriate rulebook page.
See page 73, heading "Vehicles in a squadron".