Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Because of no entries in the Codex: Space Marines and The Warhammer 40k Rulebook on rules about taking allies isn't this a "loop hole"? Granted I do know the rules about Witch and Demon Hunters but couldn't I say... Take 3 IG Leman Russes in a Space Marine army? Or could I just field a SM ally with out traits and then take allies with them? Would I get the disadvantages? Why?
WH40K isn't a game about finding loopholes - things must be explicitly stated to be legal. Nowhere does it say "you can take whatever the heck you want from whatever army you want and combine it". That would defeat the entire point of the seperate codecies and army lists. Using what you said, there's nothing wrong with me picking and choosing from every list in the game!
The rules for allies aren't found in the SM or IG codecies because you MUST have the DH or WH codecies to use them as allies. You can never have just SM & IG in the same army, hence their absence from the books.
The only possible way to have JUST IG and SM in the same army, with no restrictions on what you can use, is to use more than one Force Organization Chart. But that is usually reserved for higher point games or team battles because you must have the mandatory 1 HQ & 2 Troops from EACH Force Organization Chart.
Separate force orgs are the best way to go if you want to field allies. Fluffwise it makes more sense too, Marines may fight alongside the IG in a big battle, but it would be very, very rare for Marines to allow an IG unit to fight as a part of their Company. The only exceptions involve the Inquisition (WH, DH).