Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What transports are dedicated only? Can I have buy a chimera for IG that isn't dedicated to a unit? The SM codex specifically states that the rhino must be dedicated, but that text doesn't exist in the old Tau codex for the devilfish or in the current IG codex.
They can only be purchased for certain squads, and those are the only squads they are allowed to transport throughout the game. (Though most players wont be against you putting unit A in unit B's transport if unit A's transport and unit B are gone...)
Damn being so late, and me being so tired, someone else is gonna get back here before I can confirm the reasons for what I said above.
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan
The only non-dedicated transports (that I can name off the top of my head) are:
Land Raider Crusader
(Add some if you guys can think of them)
They are non-dedicated because they are (mostly all are) in the heavy support choice, they just happen to be able to transport some men.
A good rule of thumb is to see if a unit can purchase it. If so, then it's dedicated unless the vehicle says otherwise. In a related manner it annoys me that GW didn't make this more clear.
Ask yourself why in the world would you trust a win loss record? Playing them yourself is the only way to tell.
The true joy in the game is playing down to the last model, no matter the odds.
A transport is dedicated if you buy it as a unit upgrade. If you buy a transport as a seperate entry in the Force Organization Chart (usually as a Heavy Support choice), then it is not dedicated.
In the DH codex (only one I have handy, sorry), there are examples of both. In the entry for one unit, Inquisitorial Stormtroopers, it says that I may purchase a Rhino at X points or a Chimera at Y points, FOR that unit. This means the transport purchased is dedicated. Elsewhere in the codex a GK Land Raider is listed. It is given its own entry in the codex, in the Heavy Support section, so buying one of these as a Heavy Support choice means that it is NOT dedicated.
Any transport that does not appear as an HQ, Elite, Troop, Fast Attack, or Heavy Support choice can only be taken as a dedicated transport. Of course, they may also only be taken for units that have them as a transport option.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"