Daemon Hunters and Allied SM - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member windbourne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cheshire, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Daemon Hunters and Allied SM

    Hey! I'm new to the boards and 4th Ed. rules (though I played from early 2nd Ed. through to the begining of 3rd), so you may see a few questions from me!

    Im now collecting a new Daemonhunters army, but I am a bit slightly stuck over the force lists. On page 21 of the DH codex it is noted that you can not use allied Space Marines and Grey Knights in a DH force. On the other hand no such restriction is applied to using DH as allies of a marine force.

    Should I just take it as given that GK's and SM's can not fight together, or would I be (for whatever inexplicable reason) be able to skip around this restriction by taking a marine force with DH allies?

    Thanks,
    Windbourne


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Henryetta, Oklahoma
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,249
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x3)

    You can take GK in a marine force. The fluff justification for this, as far as I know, goes something like this. The GK would rank higher than other space marine chapters, except for the fact that they "do not exist". Thus they can not order the other chapters around. However, they can, on occassion, work under the other chapters.
    Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.

  4. #3
    Member windbourne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cheshire, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    In other words, no real justification, but them's the printed ruels. Thanks for the reply though.

  5. #4
    Senior Member DominionWeaponsGroup's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    29
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -66 (x0)

    look at it this way. space marines would call on GK to help destroy an infestation of chaos, but the GK's dont need space marines to help them with their job.
    Take life seriously, its lethal.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    I don't know if this thread is still old...but it basically is like this...

    You can use space marines in a Deamon Hunters Force that has GreyKnights so long as the space marines are not in power armor (ie, scouts). You should still be able to use the vehicles that are listed in the codex as well (I think you can take land speeders).

    Conversly, Space Marines can use GreyKnights in there army (2 troops, 1 Elite, 1 FA, 1 HQ)

    The reason is this (at least what I feel the reason is)...If you had a Deamonhunter army, with all the bells and whistles of greyknights (multiple Teleport Squads, Multiple Terminator Squads etc.) and easy access to assassins and other unique deamonhunter units - and then added a few tactical space marines squads with there laz cannons and plasma guns, with powerfists etc., it would really be broken. By just adding the 3 GK sqads and up to 2 terminator squads (2 Tps 1 FA, 1 Elite 1 HQ), it adds a lot to marines, but it limits the number of deamonhunter options you can take...

  7. #6
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    You can use space marines in a Deamon Hunters Force that has GreyKnights so long as the space marines are not in power armor (ie, scouts). You should still be able to use the vehicles that are listed in the codex as well (I think you can take land speeders).
    That's 100% wrong, actually. The exact wording is: "Allied Space Marines may not be used if Grey Knights are present in the Daemonhunters force." (DH codex, page 21, under "Allied Space Marines). It doesn't specify that the rule only applies to SM in power armor - it covers ALL Space Marines.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts