Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is a question thanks in part to rules being too fluffy IMO.
If I have a SM Librarian and buy a familiar for him out of his wargear allowance:
1.) Does this effect his rules as an IC at all? I would think no. This would mean that he could still join units, and that if he is close enough to a unit cannot be shot at.
2.) Does the familiar have to remain with the Librarian? This is very unclear...one would think that your wargear would have to remain with you to function, but the passage doesn't seem to say anything about it staying within 2" or anything like that.
2.b.) If the familiar must stay with the Librarian how is shooting resolved? If he remains an IC then I would think you must shoot at one or the other, but if they form a group (and therefore I'm wrong on #1) it would work as per the Mixed Armor rules?
This is another case of the rules being perfectly unclear. None of your qustions have an answer in the rules.
Most people rule taht teh familiar absically is a part of the librarian, but with a separate base so that it can be targetted. The drawbacks of having a familiar begin to far outweigh the benefits if they end up removing the librarians IC status and they could be considered worthless if they count for mized armor, as the librarian is now T3.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
If you think about it, the familiar works exactly the same way as a Follower (See Chaos Codex) does, except that it also gives an initiative bonus.
Anyways, the familiar has a statline, so should have a base. Any time an IC joins up with another model with a base they form a unit. So I guess my answers to your questions would be as follows -The Librarian is still an Independant Character. I say he is able to join another unit (and should probably do so), but if he doesn't, then he can still be picked out by enemy shooting since he and his familiar are pretty much a unit in their own rights.Originally Posted by DarguthThe familiar needs to stay with him. Since we're treating them like a unit, then all models in a unit needs to remain in coherency.Originally Posted by DarguthMajority toughness rules and mixed armour rules apply as normal.Originally Posted by Darguth
Also, just for kicks, here's what I found when digging for some information on the subject -That's taken from the "Rules Clarifications" sticky thread on the UK Games Workshop site.Originally Posted by Pete Haines
So, for ease of playability, I say treat them exactly how Chaos Marines treat Followers. They form a unit with the IC, but do not prevent him from joining other units.
I agree with the majority of what Caluin has said, except for...I don't think that a Librarian and Familiar form their own unit (and therefore are able to be targetted) unless the Librarian has a Command Squad or he joins a unit. In the desciption for a Familiar it says that it doesn't take up a spot in a transport and in Pete "yes/no" Haines rules clarification it says that the Familiar was originally envisioned as being part of the Librarian model. If the Familiar is that small (servo-skull, etc.) I don't see how that it could be considered a unit with the Librarian and allow him to be targetted during the shooting phase. The Familiar is listed as a wargear item, not as an add-on model such as Cenobytes (Chaplain) or Servitors (Techmarine), so I fail to see how it could possible form a "unit" with a Librarian. It does get its own base, but I believe that change was made to aid in close combat as the Familiar gets an attack and can be targetted. There is nothing in the description that says the Familiar can be targetted during the shooting phase, nor does it say that it forms a targettable unit with the Librarian.The Librarian is still an Independant Character. I say he is able to join another unit (and should probably do so), but if he doesn't, then he can still be picked out by enemy shooting since he and his familiar are pretty much a unit in their own rights.