Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I made a big mistake last night in a 1500 point battle against the sisters of battle and I need some confirmation that this is correct.
I had a DE wych group with 12" assault effect and I wanted them to charge a loot counter protected by a sister squad. The loot counter was completely in a wooded area and was approximately 8 inches away and the loot counter 2" further. I wanted to assault the sisters and "declared" so but I was informed that charging into the wooded area is treacherous terrain and I had to roll d6 and then double it. According to this I had to roll a 5 or 6 to get 10" or 12" but lucky me rolled a "1". So, the squad moved a whopping 2" in the wide open terrain.
With a 12" charge (instead of 6") I would think I could move a little further than 2".
Is this right?
Well, remember first of all that your fleet of foot movement is not reduced by difficult terrain.
Page 74 of the main rulebook.
However, the 12" charge distance is reduced by terrain.
For example, beasts and cavalry which get a 12" charge, roll for distance just as you would for infantry but then double the dice roll.
EDIT: As is stated by ArchonAstaroth below, (Props to him) that's roll two dice, pick the highest and double that. I guess I wasn't being totally clear.
Page 57 of the main rulebook.
Now admittedly Witches are a strange case, being ordinary infantry temporarily given the 12" charge by their drugs, but I believe the same principle applies.
For the next game, I'd use your fleet of foot ability to negate the majority of the terrain before relying on your 12" charge if possible.
However, you called it 'treacherous terrain'.
Did you mean Dangerous terrain?
Thats a whole different kettle of fish.
Page 17 of the main rulebook.
Last edited by Grey; March 21st, 2006 at 21:28.
"No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.
Fluff Master Clan initiate.
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.
"Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.
New 40K missions here.
Furthermore, in case of woods you normally get 2d6 and pick the highest. In order to get a puny 2" you need snake eyes...
Originally Posted by ArchonAstaroth
Additionally, after you roll the 2d6 and double it, if the total distance rolled is not enough to get you into base to base contact with at least one enemy from the unit you declared the charge against, then you don't get to move at all. In other words, you wouldn't even get to move the 2" when you rolled snake eyes, unless there was at least one Sister closer to you than 2".
pretty much.Originally Posted by Valerian
difficult terrain tests are 2D6 pick the highest. double ithe result f your normal move is 12". if you want to move into difficult terrain you still roll the dice and move up to that distance. according to page 17 even if you're in the open you're still hamstrung by the difficult terrain roll and move up to that distance even if that move won't let you get into the terrain (approach the terrain cautiously).
for charging you never move if you're not in range. where range refers to the move you can make that turn, ie counting difficult terrain checks. so if you haven't rolled enough to make it into btb then you don't move at all.
Hey thanks guys!
Yep, I screwed up and moved 2" and I only rolled one die not two. I like the the 2 dice. pick the highest and double it method better!
Anyway, a pack of warpbeasts had massacred a heavy weapons group and consolidated 6" into them - saving the wych squad from bolter rapid fire.
Hey, do warpbeasts roll 2 dice for consolodation in a massacre?
consolidation is one of those things like fleet where everyone moves the same distance. so they'd only get to move d6", not 2d6Originally Posted by KwiKwag