Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This scenario happened a few nights ago at a friendly game. I got a GW opinion on the result and I have read the assault section of the rules, I just want to make sure I am interpretting them correctly. Here goes
A group of my Termagants are assaulting a squad of Sister of Battle which are defending cover. My Termagants are in a somewhat line formation due to the rubble and sandbags I had to move around. They assault and make their difficult terrain check to assault into cover. One of the Termagants makes it into base to base with the sisters and three more get within two inches, the rest are atleast three inches away from the combat with the end of the "tail" being about 6-8inches.
The Sisters use some of their rites and because of such we got simultaneous. I believe it was a strength +2 rite that makes them go at Init 1, same as assaulting into cover. When they attacks are exchanged, the sisters win and all of the gaunts within two inches of the combat are destroyed. This leaves a three inch gap between my closest model of that unit and the closest Sister model of the defending unit.
My gaunts auto pass their morale check because of nearby Warriors keeping them in synapse. This is where the rules got weird. I was told by the defending player that because there were no more models alive that were in the original conflict(meaning base to base + up to 2"), that the combat was over and there was no consolidation moves. Basically what that meant was, my gaunts were now sitting atleast three inches away from rapid fire Sisters behind cover.
What I understand the rules to be now, and the GW employee agreed when we both looked at the text, was that since my UNIT was LOCKED with his UNIT, it didnt matter that the ENGAGED models were no longer fighting and that since I passed my morale test, I would initiate a pile in move up to 6" towards the Sisters. They then in turn would pile in up to 6" towards my gaunts, even if it meant coming out from behind cover.
If I am reading these rules correctly and if there are not subsequent rules in other sections regarding this particular scenario, then my gaunts died for nothing. They should have continued the combat, both tying up the Sisters and attacking at Init speed next round. Let me know if this is true or if there are some other rules that say the combat is over if the Engaged models are all dead. If you need more information just say so in the reply.
I believe that the rule your opponent quoted regarding no consilidation is when everything that was engaged is killed and someone fails his leadership. In this situation you would not be able to make a catch roll and can only consolidate.
Otherwise, I believe that since your termagants passed leadership, they would pile in with the sisters.
And for future reference, charging into cover gives the defenders I10, it does not give you I1.
Dreams give us a vision of a world unlike any we have seen. They present us with a glimpse of a better life; a goal to aspire to, and in the face of insurmountable odds, they provide us with the power to overcome, to live on, and to succeed where we would have otherwise failed.
Yes I am rather aware of the failing their morale check and nothing being in base to base means no run down for the attacker. It happens to my Hive Tyrant all the time.
And from what i understand the only way combat is over is if A). One group fails morale or . When the two groups attempt to pile into each other neither get into base to base after both have made their six inch move.You know, your right on that. He would have been going first since he had the cover bonus. HOWEVER, he did use the +2 strength thing which lowers your Init to power fist level. So by doing that he effectively cancelled out his cover bonus. Man that whole assault just went completely wrong. It should not nearly have been so one sided against me as it was.And for future reference, charging into cover gives the defenders I10, it does not give you I1.
If anyone else out there has opinions or rules quotes pertaining to this please let me know. I want all my facts straight before arguing the point next time we game
Due to him usng that vow you should have attacked first, though don't get too down on yourself cause teriees vs sisters is bound to end up in the sisters favor.
At the end of that combat their should have been a pile in. The only time there isn't is if no models are within there Movement of any enemy models. So you guys would have had to be 6" apart at the end to be able to move away or shoot. Even if all engaged models are dead you still pile in unless you guys are at least your movement characterisic apart.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
you where right rules wise (basically) so yes you should have piled in.
you should have struck first, and then piled in.
combat are over when an opponant fails a morale check, when the pile in moves do not bring them into contact, or when a unit is wiped out (a lictor can end combat with by running off, then charging in again...but that dosen't apply here)...niether of these three applied so you where correct.
Never judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...by that time they'll be a mile away, and have no shoes
Thanks all for your help. At the time of the game I didnt know this rule so I just went along with what my opponent said because he is generally right as far as the rules go. The next time I game with him I will explain the situation and show him the last parts of the assaulting section.
Hmm if I read your summary of how the initial fight went you lost the CC horribly, and this took you out base to base contact. According to the book pg44 only the victors get to move a 3" consolidation move at the end of the assault, and if they wanna keep them "locked" in CC must get back into base to base.
Dunno thats my take on the situation.
Originally Posted by malarion01
That's just it though, the assault isn't actually over at the point he's speaking about. There should've been a pile in and the remaining models in the two units should've remained locked.
We all carry on,
When our brothers in arms are gone.
So raise your glass high
For tomorrow we die,
And return from the ashes you call.
You passed your morale test so you move to the pile in phase. The rule is "If the pile in moves of the combatants are insufficent to allow them to get any models engaged, the assault comes to an end." This means that both of you HAVE to move 6' to attempt base contact. So were ALL models on boths side more than 12' apart? It sounds like your opponent ended the combat prematurely.Originally Posted by Tragedy316
both units were still locked in combat. no one should get a consolidation move however both sides need a 6" pile in move (if this move were insufficient to get back into cc then the combat would be over). next round both sides fight in initiative order again, so you were perfectly right.