Welcome to Librarium Online!
This happened to me on Saturday...
Space wolves were in a forest, my Dark Eldar Wyches had the "Always Strikes First" drug effect and charged the Space Wolves. He said that since he was in cover then we strike simultaneously and a little shocked by that I also indicated that the wyches had plasma grenades as well. He continued to insist that my I6 wyches, with the strikes first drug and grenades still strike simultaneously.
Is there some special Space Wolf rule that he forgot to mention that alows him to negate my drug effect?
Nope, since you had the plasma grenades you should have struck first.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
even without the grenades you should have struck first..when the rules says 'always strikes first' it means exactly that.
but especially with the grenades...your friend was cheating
Never judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...by that time they'll be a mile away, and have no shoes
Being in cover does not mean that the defending unit will "always strike first". It grants a higher initiative, but that's all. (Page 39 of the rulebook under the section entitled "Cover".) The Wych drug "Always Strikes First" ignores Initiative entirely, so cover is ineffective against it.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
Correct. The only way an "Always Strikes First" ability gets negated is if the other group also has it. Then it's just a roll-off.Originally Posted by Ostsol
Not true. as most every strike first unit has special rules describing it. Banshees ignore other special strike first rules (like librarian storm caller). and the such. Check the special rules pertaining to the strike first for the unit, and go from there. If they have no other rules (two whyches, or two banshees) then you can choose to roll off, or treat them as simul-up to you based on what you two agree upon.Originally Posted by Laplace
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Had one part of it wrong.Originally Posted by tarzen
Eldar Codex under Banshee Mask:
"....If an enemy model also has an ability that allows it to strike first (Such as Dark Eldar Wyches on certain combat drugs) then the attacks are resolved simultaneously."
So I was wrong about the roll-off.
But in the case of the Storm Caller, I don't see a reason why the attacks wouldn't be simo.