Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I think i just found a almost unkown rule (at least where i play)
It is that if you fire a single weopen you must fire all of them.
This doesnt eem like much until you get assaulting units
with a mixture of pistols and rapid fire weopens ie. BT Crusader squad.
Could not assault if they fire a pistol.
What do you think?
I always go on the weapon type.
So if you only fire the pistols you may assault.
The squad may all be made up of rocket launchers but if you fire a pistol/assault weapon you can still assault.
Thats how we play at least.
Individual models may choose not to fire if they want. However, if they do fire a weapon, they must fire to it's maximum effect.Originally Posted by SilverMane
For instance, say you have a squad with Bolt Pistols and two Plasmaguns. If you wanted to assault, you could fire only the Pistols and not have the Plasmagun models fire, and then charge in normally. But if you did have the Plasmaguns fire, they'd have to rapid fire and risk the over heat.
Can't remember where I read this, but I'll try to find a reference.
please read p 18. with the emphasis on the first paragraph, last sentence.Originally Posted by SilverMane
Further, as pointed out, if the unit fires, the whole unit counts as firing, but that doesn't mean that they actually fired-see assault rules p 36- for further on this.
This means that as long as you don't actually choose to fire your rapid fire weapons, and just opt for pistols, that you can still assault there after.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Caluin on going through the BGB there is no rule that states that if firing a weapon that you must shoot to it's full effect the exact wording on rapid firing weapons is that an infantry model armed with a rapid fire weapon can shoot twice at targets up to 12" away. As such there is an argument that you can choose to shoot the weapon only once and not roll the other dice.
There is no rule that states that a model with a rapid firing weapon must shoot both shots.
Sorry Caluin but it even states and i quoteAs such what i have stated still stands as there has not been an offical FAQ saying that i must do so then i can choose not to do it.Originally Posted by Tim
Well, sure, if that's how you'd like to play. So long as your opponent is fine with it, then there's nothing wrong with it.
However, if we're being critical of rules, I'll take a stab at it.Originally Posted by Mikhail The Heretic
It does indeed say that. It doesn't say "up to", it says twice. Pretty important difference, I would think.
Ah but i feel that the most important word there is can, at conflict scotland last year Graham McNeil was asked the same question as Pete but he gave a diffrent answer he stated that you could choose only to shoot once, fair enough i don't have that in writing but the point stands that even the developers disagree with each other on the wording of the rules.
Caluin, when it comes to your arguement keeping the 'up to' doesnt change anything. Since the can still remains; your way reads that 'rapid fire weapons can fire twice at targets 12"away' while MTH's way reads 'can fire at targets up to 12"away.'
Niether actually differ when it comes down to whether or not you have t always fire two shots when firing at targets 12" or closer.
[Damn MTH beat me to posting, by quiet a while apparently...]
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan