Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm pretty embarressed to have to ask this after having used rending for so long, but I looked over the rule book and noticed that it said "and roll of a 6 to hit will ignore armor saves and cause an automatic wound". is that a wound as in casualty? or as in no need for strength test? and does it mean that the attack which doesn't need a strength test also ignores armor saves? it's pretty confusing to me, I'll keep playing it the way I always have until someone corrects me, but what the heck does that sentance mean?
A rending hit doesn't need to roll to wound (you can even rend something you otherwise wouldn't have been able to hurt, like a str4 stealer hitting a t8 wraithlord). The opponent also gets no armor saves other than invulnerables.
Welcome to the rediculousness of rending.
An example of how rending works:
4 genestealers assault 4 space marines without invulnerable saves.
Genestealers attack and roll so many dice to hit. Of these dice 3 come up 6's.
Then 3 marines are removed straight away due to it being an automatic wound without an armour save.
4 Genestealers assault a wraithlord with 3 wounds.
Genestealers attack and roll so many dice to hit. Of these dice 2 come up 6's.
Therefore the wraithlord automatically loses 2 wounds and has one left.
I think that might explain a bit. Hopefully
That's how it works, right there. Remember that models can still claim Invulnerable and Cover saves against rending attacks, just not armour saves. (Tyranids aren't the only ones with Rending attacks, ya know.)Originally Posted by tojo
Also, this is a general rules question rather than a 'Nids question, so we're punting it over to Rule Help.
Cover saves only against ranged attacks which use the rending special rule, e.g. assault cannons, of course. Just making sure