MC and Deads - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MC and Deads

  1. #1
    Senior Member Commissar_Malevich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Olathe,KS
    Age
    27
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    MC and Deads

    Ok I need responses within some 12 hours of this post if you can. I may be wrong and just misheard this before but...Can you shoot MC when they are in close combat due to their large size?

    If so do Dreads count as MC and does it apply to them if true?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    You may not shoot any unit that is engaged in close combat. A vehicle that does not have a Weapon Skill can never be considered engaged in combat with another unit, though.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    32
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    And no, dreads are not MCs, I don't think.

  5. #4
    Pure Venom. Lordofchange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    Dreadnoughts do not count as monstrous creatures, no, they dive into the broiling combat with just as much fervour as any marine. Therefore they can't be shot at when they are in close combat, nor can monstrous creatures - it can be imagined that the squad members are climbing over it so risking a shot would be hazardous, and if the target explodes even moreso.

    LoC
    The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
    "War does not determine who is right - only who is left."

    RAMROD ONE

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    However, there are some MCs that can be shot even when in CC, but it will indicate this in their profile. Chaos Major Daemons are the first to come to mind. I know I read it somewhere in the Chaos codex.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Probably too late to help you, but:

    - Dreads are considered "Vehicles" since they do have an armor value
    - Dreads though having a WS can be locked into CC
    - Dreads are not Monsterous but do block LOS like other vehicles

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordCreampuff
    However, there are some MCs that can be shot even when in CC, but it will indicate this in their profile. Chaos Major Daemons are the first to come to mind. I know I read it somewhere in the Chaos codex.
    You mean Greater Daemons? AFAIK, they just follow the current rules for monstrous independant characters.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Really? I figured since they had specific rules regarding them being shot in CC they were not overruled by the newer rules prohibiting it.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordCreampuff
    Really? I figured since they had specific rules regarding them being shot in CC they were not overruled by the newer rules prohibiting it.
    I can't see any specific rules that say that, unless I'm simply reading it differently than you. It might help if you could point me to a page number and/or passage.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  11. #10
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordCreampuff
    Really? I figured since they had specific rules regarding them being shot in CC they were not overruled by the newer rules prohibiting it.
    Perhaps you're thinking of the ForgeWorld daemons?


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts