Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yesterday I had a rules dispute concerning tank shocking enemy units using a skimmer Tank. The thing is, I wanted to tank shock a unit near the board edge (unit A). However in between my targeted unit was another enemy unit (unit .
Is it legal to tank shock both units in one 12" move? Or could I simply have ignored the first enemy unit i would encounter? (skimmers can fly over enemy units).
Concerning the latter option. Both units were 1-2 inch away from each other. If I would move into contact (6 inches away)with my target unit, then my tank would be hanging over unit B.
Any tank can tank shock, and some skimmers are tanks.Originally Posted by SilverMane
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
Skimmer tanks may tank shock.
Page 70 of the main rulebook.Multiple units may be tank shocked.Originally Posted by GauD
'Check to see if any enemy units will be reached by the tank.'
Page 70 of the main rulebook.Originally Posted by GauD
While a skimmer may move over enemy units (again, Page 70 of the main rulebook. ) instead of tank shocking them, if you choose to tank shock in that movement phase then you are tank shocking.
You cannot decide to bypass a unit and then tank shock another as the decision to make a tank shock must be made at the start prior to moving the model.
Then the tank must be moved in the direction chosen with only one turn prior to moving. No further changes in direction may be made and any enemy model in the way gets tank shocked.
Page 70 of the main rulebook.
So the simple answer to your last question is no you can't fly over one unit to tank shock another.
Your skimmer tank may fly over enemy units in a turn, or tank shock enemy units. Not both.
Last edited by Grey; April 3rd, 2006 at 03:34.
"No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.
Fluff Master Clan initiate.
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.
"Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.
New 40K missions here.
I don't have the rule book on me, but the argument my opponent brought up was a line in the tank shock section. Something along the lines of declaring tank shock on a unit.