Mutiple Blast Templates From One Squad - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member Vindicare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    if i got a dark eldar ravager with 3 disentigrators, and they all fire at one squad with their blast template firing mode, then since my enemy can reposition each blast template just so long as it covers the same number of models, then cant he just stack all the templates on top of each other so that instead of them covering say 9 models, they cover 3 models 3 times?...if so...then that really sux...whats the deal with that?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    You are actually able to roll for each of the hits/wounds separately for each weapon, knock over the casualties and then roll for the next - therefore you fire one of them at a time, each time knocking over the respective casualties. Therefore you have a chance to fire at different ones each time if you take out casualties. You only roll for weapons together for the convenience of having to roll so many dices. If you wanted to (although your opponent might get slightly upset by it) you could roll for all individual bolter shots from a 10 man squad firing at close range (20 shots).

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    According to the rulebook clarifications file on the GW homepage, you roll to hit with all three disintegrators, and you place ONE blast marker. You count the number of hits, and multiply it by the number of blast weapons that hit the unit (which all have to be fired by the same unit, e.g. by that ravager). So if two dissies hit and you cover three models, then you scored 2*3=6 hits.

    Note that Andy Hoare clarified on the GW messageboards that these casualties do not have to be taken from the models that are covered by the marker, so in this case you can in fact kill six models, not only the three that were covered.
    Your opponent is no longer forced to draw the casualties from the models under the marker first either though.

    jwu

  5. #4
    Senior Member Vindicare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    o alright, thanx for the clarifications

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    thats annoying, if you target a command group with the leader surrounded you can force the commander to die any more? thats a waste of a devestator squad that is arrgghh.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Could you be more specific what exactly you mean?

    Generally, blast weapons have beome a lot BETTER with these rules, and what you described (if i understood you correctly) was quite difficult with the old rules too.

    jwu

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    is the bit about removing casualties from otside the marker written down in a Q&A or CA article? that doesn't make much sense to me. Why designate that the blast markers must all be stacked in one place, or have a blast marker at all, if you can just remove them from outside the blast area anyway? You must admit, it doesn't make a lot of sense? At that point it is really no different than treating it like city fight, where you just roll a D3 or D6 and remove casualties from the squad...

    :huh:

  9. #8
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Actually it makes a lot of sense, for game balance.
    Without being able to remove casualties from the models that are not covered by the marker, multiple blast weapons would be kinda pointless - You can't kill more models with three disintegrators than you can kill with one then. Still units in a tight formation are supposed to be more vulnerable to blast weapons.

    On the other hand, being forced to remove the casualties from below the marker first and then models that are not covered by the marker would overpower it, because then you can use the marker to pick off enemy models. Different to e.g. a krak missile, three disintegrators would kill everything under the marker. Including characters or special weapon guys.

    That ruling by Andy Hoare can't be found in chapter approved yet, you'd have to look it up on the GW messageboards. Since Andy Hoare is a Games Development Team member it's official though.

    jwu

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i suppose in a way it could be seen as an advantage ie you place one over the maximum three and mutliply instead of over 3 2 2 and 1 model giving 12 instead of 8 hits. but there is nothing more satisfying than watching the cringe on a n oppents face as he is forced to put a plama marker over a commander. hmmm oh well i suppose as long as he goes it all right but now the squad can go with him sweet

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts