Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, There are several older topics here regarding the Rhino use, and I did read them, but still I have one question regarding firing the mounted weapons and squad-carried weapon. To start, I would like to summarise what we know already from other posts (I am sorry for stating the obvious, but people might ask and her we can have all the answer to al your existential questions in one spot :yes: ):
1. Rhinos cost 50pts + upgrades (if taken) and do not occupy a selection slot.
2. Rhinos have 3 exit points, and one firing port big enough to accomodate two troops (supposedly explained in CA for Marines). I assume that it is true for all the Rhinos, but for example my codex (Witch Hunters) does not say anything about that. It lists only one firing port. So I am not sure about this for non-SM armies?
3. All weapons can be fired from that oversized firing point - that includes Heavy Wepons too (moving restrictions still apply)...
4. Troopers firing from inside count as moving if the vechicle moved.
5. Rotating in place does not count as moving.
6. Rhino moving over 6" cannot use mounted weapons at all. Offensive or defensive.
7. Rhino moving over 12" (I guess with special rules like Blood Frenzy, since it cannot move more than 12" on its own) prohibits infantry from shoting anything.
8. You can move all you want and deploy the smoke screen.
9. You can embark/disembark before or after you move, but not in between two short-range moves...
Now, my question:
Rhino comes with a storm bolter mounted on one of the front top hatches standard. You can buy another one as an upgrade (pintle mounted, WH can opt for a Heavy Flamer per Forgeworld site) so I assume that you can have two storm bolters on it (both front hatches).
Are those fired by the crew? This would mean that I can fire two storm bolters and a weapon from the back hatch (or two if the Chapter Approved rule stands for ALL the Rhinos).
Or is the extra pintle-mounted one operated by the passangers, and could be fired only if I have troops inside? Looking at the model it looks like it is direclty over the crew compartment, so I lean towards teh first option :unsure:
Please post any rules that I forgot and add to this thread...
So that Chapter Approved rule that says that Rhino top hatch can fit two troopers is valid for all Rhinos? I did not see it, and I did not see anyone use it where I play thus I am concerned about it...
That would mean that a Rhino with a squad of troops could move 6" and fire 8 Storm Bolter shoots (4 from the crew, and 4 from two troopers)???
Thanks for your help! Rhino with 8 SB shots is comming my way
Last edited by SmokWawelski; April 8th, 2006 at 18:22.
Well, in my CA2004 it says in the table below the Rhino Pic that the fire point can be used by 2 passengers and unless they have a 3+ save it counts as open topped when you do use the hatch. Don't forget that Rhinos can self-repair any Immobilized result!
Read the Space Marine codes, p. 35, under Rhino; Fire Points. No need to go back to the (superceeded) CA article.