Skilled riders - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Skilled riders

  1. #1
    LO Zealot mephistophales's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    withheld
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,060
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    52 (x3)

    Skilled riders

    By p.50 BGB under the movement phase, characters get move through cover and skilled riders for free.

    In a game yesterday, I landed my suit commander in difficult terrain, taking a dangerous terrain test and got a one. I thought that my unit would get to re-roll the dice because of skilled rider. My opponent disagreed, and I let the suit take a wound in the end. The wound didn't really affect the game as I still won by crushing victory, but I was wondering whether a jump troop such as a tau suit commander gets a re-roll on dangerous terrain tests. I believe it does.

    win/draw/loss
    76/13/4

    Ask yourself why in the world would you trust a win loss record? Playing them yourself is the only way to tell.

    The true joy in the game is playing down to the last model, no matter the odds.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Why did your opponent disagree? If your character had the skill, I don't reason why he shouldn't be able to use it. . .
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    LO Zealot mephistophales's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    withheld
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,060
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    52 (x3)

    He believed jump troops don't get re-rolls. but I've never seen anything that says they don't.
    win/draw/loss
    76/13/4

    Ask yourself why in the world would you trust a win loss record? Playing them yourself is the only way to tell.

    The true joy in the game is playing down to the last model, no matter the odds.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by mephistophales
    He believed jump troops don't get re-rolls. but I've never seen anything that says they don't.
    Weird. . . Just show him the rules. They don't specify what type of unit can use it. Technically it could apply to normal infantry walking through Dangerous Terrain.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  6. #5
    Member sanguinary lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    34
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    I'm inclined to agree. I think being called "skilled rider" gives the impression that it would only apply to bikes and beasts but the rule does not make mention of this. I say it is completely legal for you to re-roll for jump infantry.
    In an hour of darkness a blind man is the best guide. In an age of insanity look to the madman to show the way.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts