Charging a squad you didn't shoot - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Charging a squad you didn't shoot

    Ok so you are allowed to charge more than one unit, you just have to declare that before you measure & move. So whats to stop someone from declaring a charge on the unit that they shot in the shooting phase and a different unit, then not being able to reach the unit they shot and charging into the other unit instead?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Since you didn't make base-to-base you did not charge the unit you shot at, thus even if you wished to assault the other unit you cannot.

    You MUST make base-to-base with the unit you shot for the assault to count (otherwise nothing happens).

  4. #3
    Happy trails Adeptjosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    CT, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    621
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x2)

    for the pupose of charging you must be able to make contact with the unit you fired on first. if you can get into cc with them and can then contact another unit as well ( following the cc charge procedures) then it's legal. If you cant make it to the first unit then your sol.

    Thought for the day: A Burning Heretic , Will brighten the Decor of any room.

  5. #4
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    p 36, under shooting and assaulting.

    "if the unit fired...it must start its charge by ENGAGING the unit it shot at"
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  6. #5
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    The closest you can get to this is something like(forgive the fullstops they are there to make the graphics work):

    A = uber elite unit

    X= peon unit from opponent
    Z= peon unit from opponent


    A A A A A A A A A A A


    . . . . . X X X X X X X X X X

    Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z Z

    A dilberatley shoots at Z (with none rapid fire weaponry and for some reason the opponent takes the casualties from the right hand side:

    A A A A A A A A A A A

    . . . . . X X X X X X X X X X

    Z Z Z Z Z Z

    A can now charge Z and as a by product also charge X, but he can only do this IF, as explained by the others, he makes contact with Z and must maintain unit coherancy

    . . . . . A A A A A A A
    . . . .A X X X X X X X X X X
    A A A
    Z Z Z Z Z Z
    Last edited by Cheredanine; April 24th, 2006 at 12:13.
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  7. #6
    Senior Member Gman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    647
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x2)

    If you read the combat assaulting rules mentioned above, it says you must move your models to any "unengaged" models first. So in the example above, before guys from A could assault guys from X, A would have had to get as many models as possible into combat with Z. Once you have gotten as many "unengaged" models of your first assault engaged, you can move your guys to start engaging a different unit.


    So you can't just get that first guy into base to base of the unit you shot at, and then start moving guys to the second unit.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    South Africa
    Age
    35
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    O.k. Lets imagine my opponent shoots one with his uber tooled up Carnifex, then he charges th model right at the edge (conveniently the closest model), but ALSO makes contact with a model from another unit (the two units were placed close together).

    In effect he is charging two squads with one (BIG) model. Your opponent will rely on the rule that he charged the squad he shot at, and conveniently managed to charge a second squad, for example

    C: CARNIFEX
    X: MODELS IN SQUAD 1
    Y: MODELS IN SQUAD 2
    ".": spaces for illustrative purposes only, ingnore these

    ..........C
    XXXXX...YYYYY

    Taking the advice stated hereinabove, is this move legal?


    I

    --------------------------------------------------
    Trooper: Sir! We're completely surrounded!
    Sergeant: Brilliant! Shoot anywhere you want!
    Last edited by Inquisator; April 24th, 2006 at 22:02.

  9. #8
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gman
    If you read the combat assaulting rules mentioned above, it says you must move your models to any "unengaged" models first. So in the example above, before guys from A could assault guys from X, A would have had to get as many models as possible into combat with Z. Once you have gotten as many "unengaged" models of your first assault engaged, you can move your guys to start engaging a different unit.


    So you can't just get that first guy into base to base of the unit you shot at, and then start moving guys to the second unit.
    try reading them once more. Move your model, closest to closest in a straight line.

    so if far left is close than any others, he moves first. if middle guy is closer, he moves first, but since your PRIMARY charge is squad z, they must assault them first (ie, first guy). then you are free to move the rest, provided you follow the rules listed for assaulting:ie-engage unengaged models first, or move in as much as possible, and maintain coherency.


    and as to the carni example, it's only legal if he declares multiple assaults. And even still, all his attacks must go at the squad he shot at.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts