Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A situation came up today, my tau were playing my fiancee's sisters of battle. I got a glancing hit with my hammerhead burst cannon, and rolled a 6. The rhino exploded and we rolled for wounds, saves, etc. Afterwards, I had not yet fired with my ion cannon. I don't think I can fire at them, as the BGB p.68 says "subsequent units" may fire on them as normal, which I read to say you can't keep firing with the same unit. I was just wondering if I did this correctly.
Last edited by mephistophales; April 30th, 2006 at 07:38.
You were correct in not firing the Ion Cannon. Unless you have an upgrade / wargear piece that lets you attack multiple targets, your only viable target would've been the (now destroyed) enemy Rhino.
Also, although not exactly this situation, something to be aware that you should ALWAYS declare shooting a target one target at a time.
Meaning you don't declare you are firing at X from squads A, B, and C all at once. Because if A happens to destroy X, then B and C in effect lose their shots. Once declared, you are committed to that target, even if you are outta range, can't damage it, etc. etc.
But can't hammerheads take that Tau upgrade where you can CAN shoot at different targets?
You can take the upgrade but there's not much reason, it's a huge waste of points. I know you can only shoot at one unit, I just thought that the rhino and the sisters squad might count as one unit for shooting purposes as they were bought together and came on the board together. But I decided not to shoot and to check here.
Edit- there's no need for discussion on here, I knew the right answer from the start, and did the right thing. I know the rules, I just wanted to make sure that this wasn't some strange situation. Move along people, nothing to see here.
Last edited by mephistophales; May 1st, 2006 at 15:19.
Actually, no. Even though you can target multiple units, all shooting by a single unit is done simultaneously, so they would still count as being in the transport. Just a small clarification.Originally Posted by PoptartsNinja
And yes, MM, you played it right.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)