Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It's time for another 'silly n00b question from Kardea!'
Alright, I've got a Tau XV8 Crisis Battlesuit, right? Well... I can equip him with Twin-Linked Burst Cannons no sweat, of course. That means I have a third hardpoint. Seeing this, I want to put a Cyclic Ion Blaster on 'em, as well. This, of course, is also legal. Now, the hard part: I've thrown him a Hard-wired Multi-Tracker, as well (he's Shas'vre, so he can use hard-wired gear). That means that I can fire 'two battlesuit weapon systems in the same turn', much like a SM Dreadnaught 'n such. The question is... Does that mean I can fire my pair of burst cannons -and- my Blaster in the same turn, or do the twin-linked guns count as 'two weapons.' I sure hope not, 'cause eight shots in a single round is all kinds of shiny. Infantry-hunter to the umpteenth extent... :w00t:
-Das New Guy.
Unless there's some specific rule in your codex preventing it, twin-linked weapons count as one weapon. The BGB says "that's the big advantage for having TL weapons."
It's also the reason a dread can fire a TL lascannon and it's missle launcher in the same round of shooting.
Realize though that there are some reasons you might not want to have twin-linked guns. The big one is that although you re-roll misses with them, they damage like they're a single weapon. In other words, even though you have two burst cannons on your model, you're effectively fielding one burst cannon that can re-roll misses.
We all carry on,
When our brothers in arms are gone.
So raise your glass high
For tomorrow we die,
And return from the ashes you call.
There's a few older threads about this very subject.
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...r-wording.html (Multitracker wording)
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
His choice is one burst cannon or a twinlinked burst cannon, you can't buy two burst cannons. Though I would consider a flamer or airbursting frag projector to go with burst cannons (the cyclic is better at killing heavier infantry then burst cannons are good on).Originally Posted by DEADMARSH