Space Marines Hq's. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    311
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    My mate claims that he can take as many HQ choices as he wants because of the Command Squad configuration in the Space Marine Codex or something. I cannot find a rule which allows him to do this at all.

    Last 1000 battle he took a Commmand Squad, Commander, chaplain and a Librarian who formed a single unit for the duration of the game.

    Im sure this is common knowledge but i am unsure what is actually allowed.

    Thanks to whoever can help me!

    IG since '95.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member ~GK_Flarer~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Age
    26
    Posts
    253
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    it works like this

    if u have a chaplain and a commander its2 HQs

    if u give the chaplain the command squad its still 2 HQs

    the command squad and chaplain count as one

    commander -1
    librarian-2
    chaplain-3
    command squad - 3

    so he has 1 too many

    HES A CHEATER!

    kidding, but he has too many HQs
    MY ADVICE?
    GREY KNIGHTS RULE!

    Armies:

    Raven Guard
    Daemonhunters

    Bretonnians

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    311
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for your help ~GK_Flarer~.

    So in game terms the Command Squad can only join one character?
    IG since '95.

  5. #4
    Lord of the Household BobaHat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,733
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    242 (x6)

    No. Even if you take two HQ characters (a commander and a chaplain for example) you may give them a command squad each as a command squad does not count as a HQ choice but you MUST attach it to a HQ character. In the end you'll never be allowed to field more than two command squads anyway... I think... :huh:

    Come to think of it.... I'm kinda confused here because the Codex states that a command squad can be taken for 'any other HQ unit in the army'... but does that mean 'only one'? I don't get it... I mean you can't have TWO standard bearers in an army...

    This is interesting... I've never encountered this discussion before and now I'm not even sure I'm right about what I wrote above :blink: ... I'll leave it there anyway just for the sake of the discussion...
    "We're the Death Korp of Krieg, son. Did you think that was just a pretty name? We never retreat. We fight and we die, that's the Krieg way."
    -Lieutenant Konarski at the Battle of Erebus


  6. #5
    Son of LO BorninDarkness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Maastricht (Netherlands)
    Age
    31
    Posts
    3,574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x8)

    You may take 2 characters (unless the force organisation chart limits you to 1, or you play SW), any and all characters may be joined by a command squad.

    Bobahat, the "any other HQ unit" means any character, the wording is like this because technically the command squad is an HQ unit, but obviously can't join itself (or be taken independant), hence "any other HQ unit" (which means any HQ independant character).
    Ze titles yez...
    When in doubt,
    Smite.
    <SilverMane> I would trust BID with my life
    <SilverMane> HEIL BID!
    <Adrian-> BiD is Omnipotent; All Knowing, All Powerful!
    <Scary_Troopers> I see you as an optimist, GT. : D

    But what of the midgets!?
    =]Front in favour of Moderation of the Harshest kind.[=


  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    311
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for clearing that up guys.
    IG since &#39;95.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    318
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Any character who has his own standard, may have a standard bearer. But only ONE holy relic, and ONE Chapter banner may be taken per army.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    974
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -9 (x0)

    The fact why you would want to take a command squad confuses me, afew banners are a nice thing and an Apocithery could come in handy but they are too dandy expensive&#33; Just get a normal troop squad and put some assault weapons in it and wahae&#33; Or whatever kind of squad according to your preferences ofcourse. The fact is that you cant use the commander as an indepentdant char if he is in a command squad and no Artificer Armour And although this is a quick guess I dont think Terminator armour is aloud too? or is that just for the commander and the rest of the squad cannot?

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    46
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    A commander in a command squad is still an independent character, he just can&#39;t leave his squad. Any character marked as "independent" in the list can take artificer armor and such, just not veteran sergeants and things like that.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Donny B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sackets Harbor, NY
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Taking a command squad isn&#39;t that bad if you want to split them up. If one had a devastator squad, or some other important heavy support, then get the techmarine over there. The Apoth. would be great in an assualt squad (can he be given a jump pack to keep up with them?) All in all, you can use their abilities to help the entire army, not just the command squad.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts