Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As everyone knows, if you shoot at a unit in the shooting phase, then assault, you must assault that unit (though you can assault other units if you can reach).
My question is:
If you use something that replaces shooting, and affects an enemy unit, do you have to charge that unit?
Example 1: farseer mindwars unit A, can he only charge unit A?
Example 2: DE Haemonculus in a unit uses Crucible of Malediction (which makes psykers take Ld tests or die), can he and his squad only charge the squad the psyker who dies was with? (even though they could be all the way across the board)
Example 3: DE Archon releases Archangel of Pain in the shooting phase (any unit under flamer template takes a pinning check. It is a piece of wargear, in its description it is does not have a shooting profile, and does not say it works as a shooting attack.), can the Archon only charge one of the units hit?
I lean towards no as the rulebook says , "A unit which fired in the shooting phase..."
not "A unit which fired/used a psykic power/whatever in the shooting phase..."
how does everyone else see this?
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
Well the way I've always played it is that a power or piece of wargear that is used in the shooting phase forces the model/unit to charge the unit that they attacked/used a power on.
"They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."
Ive had this problem as well.
There are powers that can target multiple units, such as hammer of the witches, which causes all psykers to take a leadership test or suffer a wound.
Which is obviously different to shoooting.
Powers that have a stat such as Assult 1,blast I would say count as shooting.
I would have to say that anything shot with a psychic power that is in place of shooting (Mind War, Warp Blast, etc.) that only targets one unit (so not Fury of the Ancients, etc.) would to be charged at if an assault move was taken that turn by the psyker and any unit it's in, the same way a unit that shoots with normal weapons does it. That's how I've played it at least.
Any other opinions?
"We await the return of the gods as Dyannartan waited for Isha. We die for the Eldar as Dyannartan died for the Eldar. Her deeds in the face of The Great Enemy will ne'er be forgotten as long as we draw breath. Her patience and sacrifice are the devotion of the Protected Ones; the Dael-Durien."