Does Marneus Calgar Strike at I1 or I5? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Does Marneus Calgar Strike at I1 or I5?

    He's listed as having I5 in the book and on my army builder even though he wields powerfist, so is this a typo on both their parts or is he an exception to the rule since he wields those master crafted special gauntlets?

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    They're still power fists and so he strikes at I1. There is nothing in his rules saying anything different and the fact that they are master-crafted makes no difference in this case. Power fists on IC's is a bit pointless as they can be cut down before they strike and can be targetted in close comabt. The fact that Marneus has an additional wound over normal commanders helps even this out a little, but not much.

    That said any model equipped with a powerfist still retains their original initiative and if equipped with another weapon that is not a powerfist (i.e. a regular power weapon) can still strike at their inititive with that weapon and simply use the power fist as an additional close combat wepaon to gain an extra attack. This costs quite a few points but gives them the flexibility to kill infantry models or vehicles or monstrous creatures.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    Indeed, he strikes as I1 if you use the powerfists.

    However he has initiative 5 for other purposes, e.g. if you chose to attack without the powerfists, for sweeping advance purposes or for attacks that require a test e.g. vortex of doom.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Darkeagle8k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -21 (x0)

    You Are all wrong! Powerfists do never strike at nay initiative as they ALWAYS strike last regardless if the oponents initiative is - 2 million or watever. POWERFISTS ALWAYS STRIKE LAST, READ YOUR RULEBOOK!

    I think you need to do some reading....of the LO rules. Watch your tone, and if you're going to be an arrogant git - at least learn the rules before you do.
    Last edited by Lordofchange; June 8th, 2006 at 01:05.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Xiahou Dun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    696
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkeagle8k
    You Are all wrong! Powerfists do never strike at nay initiative as they ALWAYS strike last regardless if the oponents initiative is - 2 million or watever. POWERFISTS ALWAYS STRIKE LAST, READ YOUR RULEBOOK!
    *reads rulebook*

    "strikes with a powerfist are always delivered at initiative 1"

    and yes, that is an exact quote, word for word from the rulebook.
    "You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  7. #6
    Senior Member I am the Monkey King's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    29
    Posts
    309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    You Are all wrong! Powerfists do never strike at nay initiative as they ALWAYS strike last regardless if the oponents initiative is - 2 million or watever. POWERFISTS ALWAYS STRIKE LAST, READ YOUR RULEBOOK!
    No, page 46 clearly states that "strikes from a powerfist are always delivered at Initiative 1".

    Edit: beat me to it, same quote though.
    Revenge is a dish best served with mayonnaise and those little cheesy things on sticks.

    +++ Osric the Loopy, planetary governor of Corania (appointed 756.M41, removed from office by the Officio Assassinorum 764.M41) +++

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    382
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkeagle8k
    You Are all wrong! Powerfists do never strike at nay initiative as they ALWAYS strike last regardless if the oponents initiative is - 2 million or watever. POWERFISTS ALWAYS STRIKE LAST, READ YOUR RULEBOOK!
    Haha..owned.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Ookay. . . Question was answered, incorrect answer was corrected, poor posting habits were disproved of, and an unnecessary post was made. Heh. *lock*
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts