Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Tonight we had a situation where a group of marines was hit by a battle cannon (str 8 ap 3) now 4 wounds were done to the unit which had 2 hq's with invul saves and then 3 marines. We weren't sure how casualties should be taken because the rules say that you take the majority armour save which in this case would be 3+, however, since the ap was 3 and no saves were allowed, would you be able to take all the wounds on the IC who is allowed an Invul save? We ended up taking the wounds on the marines and then nothing on the IC's because in close combat they count seperately and we were uncertain how it should work in this case.
You count the majority save first so the three marine die and then you get an invul save for the last wound. Remeber that no model can be allocated two wounds until all models have been allocated a single wound.
In an hour of darkness a blind man is the best guide. In an age of insanity look to the madman to show the way.
Unless they are multiple wound models
So if there were say 5 wounds and I had 5 models, but 2 were multi wound hq's, it would go marine (1 wound) marine (1 wound) marine (1 wound) hq (remaining 2 wounds) last hq nothing? Since you have to put all the wounds onto a model with multi wounds?
Same would go for Ogrins for IG right? They are 3 wounds each so if you did 7 wounds it'd be 3 on the first ogre, 3 on the second and 1 on the third?
yes to both cases unless the, in the second case the weapon instakilled in which case it would be 7 dead ogryn
Everything you have been told is a lie!
There's actually an oft-forgotten rule about these situations. If one unit's shooting or one initiative step in combat (all the hits struck at a certain Initiative level) causes as many wounds as there are enemy models (or more wounds), the attacking player gets to force a specific model to make a save.Originally Posted by rodgambit
So it would really be:
5 wounds on 5 Marines. The attacker nominates one Character (say, a tooled up Librarian) to make a save. You get to pick what shot you save against (you can take a Bolter shell instead of a Melta burst), and you resolve the hit. Then the remaining hits are spread out across the unit.
Check it out - Page 26 for the description, and Page 41 for the reference to it during assault.
The majority armour save is the group of models that are first to have wounds applied to them, but each and every model always gets its own save. See the Mixed Armour rules on page 76 of the rulebook.Originally Posted by rodgambit
For this example, did your two HQ ICs also have 3+ saves? If that is the case then the rules that must first be follows are those for models with multiple wounds. That is, you must remove whole models. Three wounds would be applied to the single-wound Marines and the remaining would be applied to one of your ICs. The IC, of course, gets his Invulnerable Save.
If the two HQs did not have a 3+ save, then the Mixed Armour rules apply. You take the group of models whose Armour Save is in the majority and apply wounds to them. There are three models in the majority, in this case, so one wound remains. This remaining wound is applied to one of the remaining models: one of the ICs.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
So say that Librarian takes a wound, and then the next three wounds remove marines, that last remaining wound would have to be applied to the Librarian, correct? So in this way if all five wounds get through, the attacker can "choose" the multi-wound individual to be removed. But if that first wound is saved, and then the three marines removed, would the fifth wound be saved against the librarian or could it go to the other IC if the defender so chooses?Originally Posted by Wraith
You took 5 wounds from a str8 weapon. It's AP is instant death for three marines majority Armor Saves, You have two HQ models left with invulnerable saves. If those fail both die. Done. You have to take the marines first. Multiple wounds don't matter against double toughness.
But if you have multi wound models don't all the wounds have to allocated to them before moving on? Meaning you can't say my HQ takes 1 and my second HQ takes the other, you have to put them both on the first HQ because he has multiple wounds. Therefore if you had a 5 man squad with 2 HQ's and 3 marines all with 3+ armour saves, rather then putting a wound each of the marines then the remaining 2 on the first HQ, you could go in reverse order and allocate 3 wounds on the epistolary hq (3 wound model) then carry over the remaining 2 onto the next HQ or marines. Since the armour saves are all the same it'd be up to you to choose where they go, unless there is a rule that says single wound models must take wounds before multi wound models, in which none of this applies. Anyone able to answer this scenario?