Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi guys, i have a few Q's about wen vehicles get attacked in CC;
1) If a vehicle is charged by say, a lictor, and survives the first round of combat can it then in its next turn leave combat and move away?
2) does the rule for skimmers which says that if they move more than 6" they can only receive glancing hits apply in close combat, or just against shooting attacks? Its just that they seem to hav aquired gigantic beards if in CC you can onli hit them on 6's and even then only get glancing hits
thnks for your help
First up, yes you can move away from the combat (as long as your not stunned or imobilised), in your turn.
Second, yes you can only glance a moving (moved over 6") skimmer in CC. I think it represents the fact that the skimmer has moved so fast that you don't actually fight it in combat, you just fire pot shots at it as it flies by (it says something to this effect in the rulebook).
Inquistion force WIP. Pics on posts 17 and 23.
thanks thats cleared it up
It is debated. The Skimmers moving fast rule says they are glancing if the skimmer moved more then 6" in its last movement phase. The Vehicles and Assaults - Hits section says non-immobolised skimmers always "counts as moving more then 6" in its previous turn". The possible interpretations are:Originally Posted by Adrian Smith
1) Mobile skimmers can never be penetrated by shooting or assault as they always "count as moving more then 6".
This is pretty ridiculous as they go into length to describe how a skimmer must move to gain this advantage
2) The "counts as moving 6" only applies to rolling to hit. This is because "in its last movement phase" and "in its previous turn" are not the same thing. The "previous turn" is the language used in the vehicle hit chart.
It really depends on how precise you want to get with language.
1)Let me throw this in. Instead of lictor. Let's say that it is surround by group of genestealers like 8. The tank was not hurt from genestealers.Now since it has no place to go, other then through genestealers then it would have to tank shock ? That would be your only choice other then stand there?
2) same genestealers but they only cover 3 sides instead all the way around. The tank was not hurt. Can you pivot and move away again when you pivot you will come close to the genestealers?
Last edited by bonekrusher; June 12th, 2006 at 12:49.
It can tank shock if you want to, or it could just sit still and shoot since tanks are never locked in combat unless they have a WS stat (like Walkers/Dreads/Chaos Defilers)Originally Posted by bonekrusherI'm pretty sure the rules say that you can't end your move closer than 1" to an enemy model, and as long as you can move without touching enemy bases you can squeeze past them. I don't think set in stone pivoting rules have been in use except for Rogue Trader (where you had to actually figure the angle of your turn based on how far the vehicle moved). If you had space for the tank to fit without crossing the enemy base, you could move without tank shocking (or again, sit and shoot)Originally Posted by bonekrusher
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
no. Skimmers can move OVER troops ala bgb p (dang, will check in a sec, but it's under skimmers special rules)Originally Posted by bonekrusher
And Skimmers can only tank shock if they are tanks. so vypers and landspeeders can't, but falcons can.again, see above.2) same genestealers but they only cover 3 sides instead all the way around. The tank was not hurt. Can you pivot and move away again when you pivot you will come close to the genestealers?
bonekrusherwrong, as it only counts as having moved for CC hits. Shooting hits can still kill it if it didn't move last turn. But the glancing only for CC hits is correct.Originally Posted by raptortrue, could be argued this way, but not without the note of how the bgb defines smf rule, and further reading on p 71 (IIRC) that says movement for cc hits is based on displacement, not movement, thus qualifying it to conform with smf rule.2) The "counts as moving 6" only applies to rolling to hit. This is because "in its last movement phase" and "in its previous turn" are not the same thing. The "previous turn" is the language used in the vehicle hit chart.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)