Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay first I have a tau stealth team the codex says that when they are assaulted they are considered to be in cover? what in the world does that mean I can't find any rules in the big book or my codex about being assaulted in cover.
Second my friend continually puts his men right behind ruins and stuff and says that men on the otherside have no LOS to them. The ruins are the type you get in the boxes of guys from GamesWorkshop. They are used a lot. THe problem is that he has put his heavy platform there and then put the operators behind the ruins. He then says that I can't see the operators and then his gun is invincible. It just shoots my men down until I finally flank his men and trap the squad, meanwhile I lose like an entire squad to it each turn.
Lastly my friend recently made something that he wants to say has a camo net and say it gives him like a 5+ save. With his eldar rangers suddenly he has a 4+ invulnerable armor save just for sitting behind the camo net even though they are already in camo cloaks.
How does cover really work I have heard that men hide behind it and can shot out of it and be shot. I've heard that it can block LOS I've heard that it can't. I've heard a hundred counterdicting things about cover and it just makes it more confusing.
The rules for cover are in the BBB starting on page 54. Woods and jungles special rules are on page 46. Assaulting into cover is on page 63 under 'Who Strikes First'.
Your friend is completely wrong here. If his troops can see to shoot, they can be shot. There is no rule that allows you to use cover to prevent being shot, but still shoot out. If he hides them so they are completely protected from incoming fire (blocked LOS) then they cannot shoot. They also cannot pop out of cover, shoot, and move back into cover. Not that you brought it up, but it sounds like the type of move he might try.
It is possible that camo netting could provide cover. At best it would be 6+. Normally if you have two types of cover available, you may only choose one save to use. That's with all saves, pick one. They do not add together. However, there are certain items of wargear or troops with special abilities that add +1 to any cover save. If your friend's troops are one of these, then the 6+ camo netting would be a 5+ for those troops. Just the nature of the game.
Camo netting, bushes, and other soft concealment should only give a 6+ base cover save. 5+ base should be for heavier cover such as low walls, sandbag emplacements, etc. 4+ should be bunkers and fortified positions. There are examples of cover saves in the BBB.
Cover always allows you to shoot and be shot. You just have the option of a cover (invulnerable) save vs shooting. The exact save depends on the cover. Its best if you go over all the terrain pieces before the battle so everyone agrees on exactly what cover provides what save.
Blocked LOS means exactly that. No shooting in either direction.
Sounds like your friend is bending the rules (breaking them) for his benefit. If in doubt make him show you in the book/codex where the rule is written. If he can't show you the rule, don't let him use it.
If you can see to shoot, you can be shot. Usually. Its that simple. Almost.
This also applies to real life, should that situation ever arise. :o
Remember that you can see 6" -into- cover, but you cannot see -through- cover-- that is, if a woods is 3" thick, you can see the guys in the woods, but not the guys on the far side of the woods. This applies to buildings, etc.
Now, your friend could have put his HW more than 6" from the visible edge of the building, in whuch case, you could not see him, but then he could not nee you either.
Note also that there are certain troops that have slightly different rules here-- for instance, a Catachan HW team (or any other Catachan unit) positioned 10" inside a woods/jungle/forrest could see out to shoot as it xcan see 12" through trees. It could not be shot at, unless the shooter has the same (or similar) ability.
Unless your friend is using a unit with a rule like that, he's hosing you.
Make it up to him by building a VDR Basilisk with 4 earthshakers, and then use the Cityfight rules for determining the number of hits in a building (4 ordnance templates, d6 hits per, can afftect anyone anywhere in the building).
Agree with WolfRaider here.
Being assaulted in cover means that you get to attack first whatever your initiative.
Regarding your friends heavy platform. If the operators are behind the ruins then they can't see to fire.
When we play with ruins we say that you can see 6" in or out of cover and models anywhere within the ruins get a 5+ cover save.
thank you for clearing this up for me. We have a little thing going on that you have to show proof of the rule but it is kinda hard if neither of us can find any proof. Recently I think he is trying to bend another rule. <_< gets really annoying we sometimes spend more time arguing the rules then playing.
Here it is. He says that you have to declare everything you are firing before you fire and that you cannot change targets so if I target a squad with 3 of my squads but it only takes 2 to kill it I can't use my third squad on something else. Unfortunatly since he is eldar this works to his advantage especially since I'm Tau. He uses it to get in close sombat before I rip his units to bits. Anyway his reasoning for this is that all your men fire simultaniously so they can't switch targets. I don't agree but since I can't find any rules about this and neither can he we just argue. He won't back down so I end up being more conservative and to often parts of units get past and get in close combat keeping me from firing the next turn. Anyway does anyone know if this is a rule or just something he made up.
This could change everything since this weekend I may be fighting him and his friend. They both are always doing things like this. I still win though He just has never stood a chance against space marines and Tau massacre him even more. I lost 189 points last time I played him out of a 1175 point army his army was destroyed down to the last man. Then we played where he had double my army. My army was slaughtered but I still killed over 1300 points with my 1175 points. I loved the first turn his Eldar scout guys infiltrated to the middle of the table and I infiltrated right beside them killed 12 snipers in one turn a complete massacre.
Anyway if you know if that piece of junk is a real rule please tell me never played that way with anyone else.
He's cheating again. You do NOT have to declare targets prior to shooting. Pick one squad and it's target, resolve the shooting, then move on to the next target with another squad. There is no rule in 3rd ed that requires you to pick all your targets. It is normal etiquette to shoot all your guess range weapons first so you can't use other squads to measure out the range, but you still do them squad by squad.
To speed up rule checking, get one of those small 3min hour glasses. The person claiming the rule exists has 3 minutes to find it. If they can't find it in that time, roll off with a D6 and get on with the game regardless of the results. Then AFTER the game look up the real rule.
Thanks a lot that really helps and thanks for the timer rule. The problem became that neither of us could find anything that said you could or couldn't do it. So I let him have it the first few times since it never really affected my space marines but then when I switched to Tau it became a major problem. Thanks again for clearing these things up.
You pick one target for a unit, roll dice, and then pick another unit to shoot with, this is outlined very clearly in the beginning of the Shooting section of the rulebook.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com