Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Clarification please? Ive done a search and not found anything too halpful.
If the Deepstrike rules, I don't have the pg numbers handy, is states that Models count as having moved, may fire and may not assault.
In the Vehicle section it is clearly stated that models may not Assault after a disembark if the vehicle moved UNLESS THE VEHICLE PROFILE is OPEN TOPPED.
A Drop Pod, profile states it is open topped. Can a Unit of <whatever> Deepstrike, landing in a drop pod, disembark, shoot AND Assault in the turn they arrive? If not, I don't know why they would bother putting Open Topped in the Drop Pod Profile.
Um, i beleive that you cannot assault out of a drop pod, you can get out and shoot but not assaut, just like normal deep-strinking.
The drop pod is open topped, because after it lands the sides pop off, leaving it "open topped"
Hope that helped!!
Inquistion force WIP. Pics on posts 17 and 23.
Granted, I can understand how it is open topped in a fluff sense, but if it doesn't make a difference in the rules or play of the model/unit, why mention it in the profile?
I'm gonna try pulling "but it's open topped so I CAN assault" with my local group and see what happens. :-D
i think it would be explained by the fact that if they hit the ground really fast, they may be a bit shaken up, becaus the drop would probably shatter a guardsman's legs, and make him pass out because of changes in pressure and laxck of proper environment.
And that would be Armor for Sleep... My Town.
You can't assault after deepstrike, it is very clearly layed out in the DS rules in the BBB. As for being open topped it does affect the rules. It matters quite a lot when the drop pod gets shot, or hit with a template weapon.
Drop pods don't technically deep strike...but it does specifically say under the drop pod rules that any units on board may not assault after they have disembarked.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
In the SM codex in the 4th paragraph of page 21 it specifically says passengers may not assault after landing.
The Ten Dimensions
"I read about something like this in a book." "Are you sure it was a book? Are you sure it wasn't nothing?" "...Oh yeah."-Peter and Brian Griffin
Hey. Now that I'm home, I've read all the replies and checked the pages in the rulebook and codex. Looks like there will be no Assaulting from a Drop Pod for me.
Thanks for the time and effort.