Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This may seem a petty question but since you can only load up 5 terminator's in a drop pod, and since the squad size can be up to 11. (HQ unit, Sergeant and 9 terminators). If you opt to take drop pod for the unit do you take multiple drop pods and pay the points or what? Does the drop pod limit you to a total of 5 guys for this command squad? Only reason this came up is the SM special rules for drop pods reads
"Any Command squad, vet squad, ect......... may be equipped with a drop pod."
I'm thinking that if you drop pod the squad it must be under the five unit limit of the the transport. However my worthy opponent felt otherwise and the dice god failed to uphold my argument. My opponent then landed his 11 man Command squad via three drop pods. All nice and convenintly lined up in front of my Dev squad, as they are vehicles and block line of sight, my options were fire on the drop pods or move until they wern't blocking LOS. To make it even worse that squads transport cost a whopping *pts as he only paid for 1 Drop pod couse thats what Army Builder cost it out at. :x
I'm thinking I got Cheesed hard!!!!!!!!!!:wacko:
breath, sight, squeeze.
now double tap just for grins
and Another One bite's the dust.
A bolter round for all that oppose the Emperor.
Tell him to take a look at the drop pod unit entry - it clearly states it can only carry up to 5 terminators, which will include the character in the case of a retinue.
If you opt for a larger squad, they may not take a drop pod as a transport, it's as simple as that. Neither may you spread a unit across multiple transports - it either fits in one or it doesn't use it.
You can only take a transport if all the models can fit in it!
Last edited by Rork; June 28th, 2006 at 18:12.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I believe that it is stated in the rulebook that you cannot spread a unit between transports or embark a unit on a transport if it is over its capacity. The drop pod is a vehicle and it holds units, therefore it is a transport.
And yes you also got cheesed with the points. Army Builder does not trump the codex. If he was going to break the rules, he should have at least paid xpts each!
Last edited by Cheredanine; June 30th, 2006 at 11:58.