Question on MC Plasma - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    45
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Question on MC Plasma

    Is mastercrafting a plasma weapon worthwhile for a vet tactical squad. Squad composition is vet sargeant w/ termin honors, 7 bolter marines with TH, 1 marine with TH and Hvy Bolter and 1 marine with MC Plasma gun and TH

    By my calcs that runs into a little over 300 points and is a monster point sink. Then again it would have 21 attacks at range of 24" without rapid fire (29 with rapid fire)

    I am not looking for a comment on the point setup, just on whether or not at that point cost is the mastercrafting worthwhile to get a chance to avoid "gets hot"?

    When in doubt call in an ordnance strike.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Pure Venom. Lordofchange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    *Punted to rules help*

    LoC
    The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
    "War does not determine who is right - only who is left."

    RAMROD ONE

  4. #3
    Senior Member SilverMane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cape Town,South Africa
    Age
    24
    Posts
    797
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    I think the title mislead LOC. Shouldnt this be in SM forum?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Yes, mastercrafting the plasma on a 1 wound marine with a thunderhammer is definatley worthwhile as you will be kicking yourself when he fails an armor save and you lose your thunderhammer.

  6. #5
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    Although if the model carrying the plasmagun has no acces to the armoury it can't MC it's plasmagun.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Jhagadurn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    -31 (x0)

    I also don't think that mastercrafting a plasmagun has any effect on the gets hot roll, I think it is like twin linked, in the fact that a '1' still fries you, but I could be wrong.
    TSg.t Zakarius Clay
    142nd Cadian, Stationed Planet Skyfall B
    4th Brigade, 1st Battalion, 1st Co.
    'The Pathfinders', Drop Team - 6


    Pssst.... give me kudos....

  8. #7
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Jhagadurn
    I also don't think that mastercrafting a plasmagun has any effect on the gets hot roll, I think it is like twin linked, in the fact that a '1' still fries you, but I could be wrong.
    No if a twin linked or MC weapon rolls a one for gets hot they can reroll it just like any other failed roll to hit. (Now the second result, well lets just hope that one isn't a one...)

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  9. #8
    Senior Member Jhagadurn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    -31 (x0)

    not that I don't trust you... ok yeah that's it ;-)

    Can you give me a reference somewhere that says that, darkreever? Sorry, I have just always played the other way, would like to know which way is right for sure.
    TSg.t Zakarius Clay
    142nd Cadian, Stationed Planet Skyfall B
    4th Brigade, 1st Battalion, 1st Co.
    'The Pathfinders', Drop Team - 6


    Pssst.... give me kudos....

  10. #9
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    Ya, pg 24 of the marine dex says something along the lines of: "a master crafted weapon may re-roll one to hit roll." So since a one is still a fail on a gets hot weapon it can be rerolled and the effects of the first roll ignored. (In fluff that makes absolutely no sense especially in the case of a twin linked gets hot weapon, but rules and fluff rarely add up I guess...)

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  11. #10
    Senior Member Jhagadurn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    -31 (x0)

    hmmm..... well, I know you get to reroll a failed to hit, but do the effects of the overheat still happen? I mean, look at a twinlinked plasma..... you still have two guns firing, one hits, the other overheats.... the shot counts but so does the wound... I'm too tired tonight to think, I'll look again in the morning..... and my spelleing sucks right now....

    (Edit dark: No it doesn't )
    Last edited by darkreever; July 2nd, 2006 at 07:54.
    TSg.t Zakarius Clay
    142nd Cadian, Stationed Planet Skyfall B
    4th Brigade, 1st Battalion, 1st Co.
    'The Pathfinders', Drop Team - 6


    Pssst.... give me kudos....

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts