Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friends and I had an arguement about infiltrating rule. We are not sure if the infiltrating squads can deploy exactly 18inch away from enemy unit (so that they can move and get into the rapid fire range on the first turn) or they have to be 18.1 inch away (so that they can't rapid fire the first turn). The funniest thing is even the GW's staffs from the same store have different believe on infiltrating rule. Can someone please help us >.<
Last edited by Darthed; July 10th, 2006 at 16:55.
Good Morning Darth, and welcome to the Mighty LO, where you will hopefully spend many hours gaining usefull knowledge and many minutes waiting for the site to load.
It's a good question, you could try asking on the rules forum.
I could well be wrong but.. for standard infiltration with no LOS, it has to be over 12 inches.
For this reason I would say that you have to deploy at over 18 inches.
But like I said, I may be wrong on that.
I and caluin had the same debate and the answer is 18.000001" from the enemy, which prenvent first turn charge with raptors.
CHAOS Undiv.: won 14/22 games EC: 4/7 WE: 6/9 DG: 10/15, TS: 3/7 Orks : 13/20 SM NL : 1/6 TAU: 14 of 24 IG: 3/7
And I guess that's why speed can be more usefull than flight.
first turn charge for speedy infiltrated things, oh yeah.
I'm confused, what is the exact verbage of the rule? I have always played it "at" 18" away with LOS. Even if the rules says "at least 18 inches" you can put it at 18. Think about it, if you are, and can even measure, 18.0000001 you are going to move 6" and be able to measure 12". If anyone can measure, or will argue .00000001 of an inch, then you are the type to be a big pain in the arse rules monger. I'm sorry but anything less then an 1/8" in this game is to small to even argue about.
Everyone I play has no problem with it being at 18". It's really only an advantage if you already know who is going to go first. If you don't know yet, then putting yourself right at 18" can get you shot up as well.
for assault its very important but for rapid-fire its almost irrelevant. Remember the closest model must be 18" away so odds are only 1 model will be in rapid-fire regardless, for assaults though and getting into the safety of cc is very important.
I usually play with 18" but I am such a terrible measure with the tape i end up only moving 5.5" anyway so I never get the 1st turn shooting/charging.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
It is very important for both shooting and assaulting. As the rules say that you must be at least 18 inches, you must be as Mindraked said 18.0000001 inches away. What this means is that people always mess up measuring a bit and you can't measure distances that small, but even if you set up 18 inches away, move 6 inches closer to him, by the rules you are out of range for rapid fireing as you started farther away then your move and shoot can get you.
Look at it this way, most missions have both sides deploying 12 inches into the board. If you place a squad of CSM as far up as you can, and then I place a squad of Hormagaunts as far up as I can directly across from you I am 24 inches away. If I get first turn, move 6 then fleet 6, can I charge your unit with my 12 inch charge? Most people say no as I must have been 24.000000001 inches away from you when we started, so even if I can touch your unit with my measure of 12 inches, it must be because of human error in my movement or either of our deployments.
Punted to Rules Help.
The exact verbage in the BGB is - "Must deploy more than 12 inches.... (yadda yadda yadda)... must deploy more than 18 inches..."
The more than is the most important bit. It means that footsloggers may be never first turn charge, and Rapid Firing is not an option if the enemy can draw LoS. Without the "more than" rule, Broodlords could be on top of you on the first turn and be practically unstoppable.
And as Karmoon stated, that's the big reason that Daemonic Speed is better than Daemonic Flight.
That is the most rediculous argument I've ever heard. I'm sorry if you get this thrown at your in your gaming community. Where I play no one would ever argue against it, espeically that specific example. In fact that example is a good argument in the other direction. Bugs are an assault army. The whole purpose of the fleet is to get into assault faster. If they are lucky and roll 6 on fleet, and I'm stupid enough to deploy on my deployment line vs bugs, I'll give him the assault. Now they might not get everyone into assault since they are just barely getting the first row in, but I'd give it to them.Originally Posted by xrix1
What is the purpose of the 18" calculating 6" moves, 12" weapons, and 6" assaults? I'm pretty sure GW realized that at 18" or 18.0000000001" we would be in range to move and shoot, or move, fleet, and assault, and that is why they made it 18" Infiltration and not 19". Come one guys get some common sence and think it through, and stop splitting hairs.
The rules states "More Than." Not "up to." This has been debated and GW ruled it to be "More Than," so you can't get the charge/Rapid fire from a infiltrating unit on turn one. GW states that the "Spirit" of the rule is that you simply can't make contact on Turn ONE with an infiltrating unit. It is quite unbalancing if you could.Originally Posted by Gman
40K: Tyranid, Necron, Space Wolves
Fantasy: Dark Elves, Lizardmen, Orcs & Goblins, Dwarves