Feel No Pain question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member Crypt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Feel No Pain question

    Do you roll for FNP after you fail an armor/invul/cover save, or do you roll it after you take a wound in place of an armor/invul/cover save?

    But we'll never survive!
    Nonsense. You're only saying that because no one ever has.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Phoenix Guard 1988's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL (yay college!)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    You first roll for any applicable armour saves and then, assuming the enemy's weapon doesn't ignore normal armor saves, you take the FNP test.
    1500 years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the Universe
    500 years ago everybody knew the world was flat
    5 minutes ago you knew humans were alone on the planet
    Imagine what you'll know tomorrow

    Imagine-John Lennon

  4. #3
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Feel no Pain only comes into play when you miss an armor save and take a wound.
    Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?

  5. #4
    Member cfoley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    34
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    That's right. However, even if you get it the wrong way round it makes no difference to the game. I wouldn't worry about this one too much.

  6. #5
    Junior Member Crypt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for the help. Now, I'm fairly certain of the answer to this next one, but just to be sure; can you roll a FNP test against a weapon that doesnt outright ignore armor, but has AP value enough to go through yours? i.e. Can a Khorne AC with FNP roll it against a plasma rifle that can go through his armor? Or is it just things like power weps/fists and Dred attacks that dont allow FNP?
    But we'll never survive!
    Nonsense. You're only saying that because no one ever has.

  7. #6
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    High AP weapons (Plasmaguns and Meltaguns) ignore armor in the same way as power weapons, so, no you don't get your FNP save.

    Mike

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by MiketehFox
    High AP weapons (Plasmaguns and Meltaguns) ignore armor in the same way as power weapons, so, no you don't get your FNP save.

    Mike
    Actually this is incorrect. The rule specifically states only close combat attacks that ignore saves stop you rolling for Feel No Pain. The AP of a ranged weapon is never taken into consideration - only if the weapon would inflict instant death does it negate Feel No Pain.

    Having said that I think that's how it should work (low AP ranged weapons also ignore FNP)- but thems the rules...

  9. #8
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Oops, your rght, I was too fast in reading my BGB.

    Mike

  10. #9
    Senior Member bonekrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    In my last tournement their was a demon prince with stature and feel no pain. Since his toughness was a natural 5 due to stature and his save was 2/5. All those lasercannons shot at him gave him 2 saves one for invurenable of 5 and the feel no pain of 4. It was tough to kill him until he reach cc. Since powerwpns would not allow the fnp roll.
    bonekrusher

  11. #10
    Senior Member Gman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    647
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by bonekrusher
    In my last tournement their was a demon prince with stature and feel no pain. Since his toughness was a natural 5 due to stature and his save was 2/5. All those lasercannons shot at him gave him 2 saves one for invurenable of 5 and the feel no pain of 4. It was tough to kill him until he reach cc. Since powerwpns would not allow the fnp roll.
    bonekrusher
    Yup, I have run a DP with that setup. I have seriously pissed off some players when the dice gods were on my side.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts