Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This just recently came up, but I believe myself and the group of guys I play with may be misunderstanding the rules of the game. When we play, if a model has 2 base attacks, and is armed with a bolt pistol and a powerfist, then we say he gets 3 powerfist attacks, or 4 on the charge. Same with power weapons. If a model has a power weapon and a pistol, we give them 3 power weapon attacks. Is this right, or does the attack from the pistol only count as a normal attack?
The reason I bring this up is because I play on fielding a Techmarine with a servo harness. I have been told that he then gets 2 powerfist attacks, and 2 power weapon attacks. Now on the charge, would the extra attack go to the powerfist, or the power weapon?
The last question I have is this. Does a techmarine with full servo armor get the bonus attack for having a pistol since he has the plasma cutter on the harness, or does this not count?
Thanks for any help.
The rulebooks states that a combination of two close combat weapons grants an extra attack. The space marine then fights with his weapon as many times as he has attacks. Therefore:
Space Marine - 2 Attacks on base profile
Charging - 3 Attacks
Power fist (or sword) and pistol - 4 Attacks
Total = 4 Attacks with whatever close combat weapon he chooses to use.
Not quite sure where you got this idea that only some of your attacks can be with a certain weapon, but its not in the rulebook I assure you. If your got the attacks and the weapon, use them.
The techmarine is an interesting case, which I reckon isnt covered in the rulebook, and the number of attacks he gets with each weapon IS limited by his wargear, though this is an exceptional case. However, since hes actually holding a power weapon, whilst the power fist attacks are from his servo arms which simply attack once per tunr of their own accord, I would say it would be the power weapon that the charge attack goes to.
And on the subject of the plasma cutter, Id say no, as its part of his harness and so is an exception to the normal number of weapons a mrine can carry (i.e. two) however theres many interpritations on this, so my answer is by no means definitive.
Let Victory Be My Wine
Without Death, Pain loses all relevence
Without Pain, Death loses all relevence
"Is there anything you dont know about 40K ???" - Friend
"Well, I still haven't worked out where Termies keep their spare ammo..." - Me
Yes, all the attacks are used on the powerfist/power weapon.Originally Posted by Justinic
edit: (beaten to it)
One is not to question why, but to do and die.
Thou shalt not stick a 'Honk if you think I'm sexy' bumper sticker on a Sister's rhino.
Click this link to read about REAL drop podding U.S Marines!!
Well, I can't be sure, but I think you are handling power fists and weapons correctly (the extra attacks from the pistols DO count - at least we play that way too). You decide to resolve all your close combat attacks with ONE weapon of your choice and all attacks are with its special modifiers (to strength, enemy armor and initiative).
The Techmarine is a special case. I did not know how to handle him when I first read his profile, but I have so far given him all his normal attacks with his power weapon, including any bonues for two close combat weapons (but NOT suit weapons such as the plasma cutter), Terminator Honors and the charge and ADDITIONALLY one attack powerfist attack per servoarm.
Problem that arose with my Techmarine was when he was fighting a Swarm Tyrant with lash whips: does he lose a power weapon attack AND a powerfist attack, or can I choose which, or can the opponent choose? I let the opponent choose, but I still don't know how to do it properly.
Edit: there were no other answers when I started to type this. I'm sorry for repeating what others have already said!!
I'd say to the Power weapon. As the Techmarine gets a bonus for charging, but not his harness.
Rules Boyz might help.
Moved to Rules Qs.
The extra attack is a power weapon attack, not a power fist attack. The harness grants an extra attack in the form of a power fist attack. Since GW rules are permissive and this attack falls outside the normal attack rules, it would have to specifically state that the charging bonus was a power fist and not a normal (i.e. power weapon) attack.
The plasma pistol situation is more tricky and it can be argued either way. However, the rules clarifications by Pete Haines say that it doesn't count for close combat. This isn't official, though so you could try and argue it in a game. I'd much rather keep the game hassle free and buy him a bolt pistol from the armoury for the extra attack.