Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
...That in combat, models in base contact have to be removed first.
Is this true? I can't find any evidence of this in the rule book. It simply says, "you may only remove engaged models" (models within 2" of a friendly model in case contact)
So is this right? Do they speak the truth?
If so, could you point me to the page reference, please?
Yep, seems like Mike is right. You need to read the rulebook literally, as it seems you have done, and you need to point that out.
Only models engaged (in base to base or within 2" of a model in base to base) may be removed as casualties, but there is no rule stating that they have to be the ones in base to base contact. However, they must keep unit coherency whenever possible when removing casualties.
3rd edition is dead! Long live 4th edition!
Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?
Thanks a lot, guys.
Gonna have to go beat some people with the BGB, ^_^
Where they trying to kill your Powerfist?Originally Posted by Robizzle
40K: Tyranid, Necron, Space Wolves
Fantasy: Dark Elves, Lizardmen, Orcs & Goblins, Dwarves
30 Orks with a Power Claw at the bottom attacking a Wraithlord, and he claimed I had to remove the Claw first (there were only 2 guys, including him in base contact at the time, as I just charged)
Everyone nearby backed him. I make it a thing to never argue in a game. I just went with it. I massacred him, anyway. So it didn't make a vast difference.
I do believe that you're the one who gets to pick which model has to go bye bye, not your opponent.Originally Posted by Robizzle
Any models in base to base contact with the enemy and within 2" of a model in base to base contact is considered engaged - and only engaged models may be taken off - which means that, say you have two guys in base to base contact, and two more within 2" of those two... that's four engaged units, and you can take the casualties from any of them, as long as you keep your unit in coherency.
Maybe get your opponent to read the rulebook. :ninja:
Isn't/wasn't there a rule that said that monsterous creatures could pick out models in close combat? But as far as I know, it doens't exist anymore.