Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Tau SMS can shoot regardless of LOS and intervening terrain. Does that mean that I can fire my SMS at a unit directly behind my SMS wielding vehicle, even though I've moved (negating pivoting, and assuming range is good)? I'm thinking so.
I don't see why you couldn't. Since they aren't really a gun and you could model them facing backwards if you wanted, it doesn't really make a difference where they shoot to
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
I have a quick related question. When you fire SMS at a vehicle it is my understanding that it would strike the vehicle on the side closest to the direction from which the SMS was fired. In my last game against Tau, my buddy tried to say that the SMS could target the rear armor (not the closest side) because it doesn't need LOS , can move around intervening terrain and "fires with the intelligence of a drone". I'm 99.99% sure he's wrong, but I couldn't find a reference in the BBB. I remember something being in there that said that you would strike a vehicle from the direction of the firer. Does anyone happen to know what page that was on? During the game I couldn't find it, so we rolled a d6 each time to see if the rear armor was struck. Thanks in advance for the help guys!
Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?
I believe there is a rule, published in the codex, in the entry of the SMS (check the area where all of the other weapons are talked about) that says, though it doesn't need LOS, it is assumed to be hitting the side of the vehicle that is in a straight line from the model shooting. Meaning, if the rear armour is facing you, then yeah, sure, it hits the rear armour. But it can't "go around" the vehicle to hit the rear armour.Originally Posted by Lord Malachi
Your buddy's wrong, but I can't come up with the page reference because I don't have the codex currently on me. It's near the Armoury/weapons section before the actual army list.
Your buddy is misguided. Nowhere in the descrition of smart missiles does it indicate that it can wrap around a tank or any other randomness. A special rule would be needed to allow a weapon to do this, not simply stating that the weapon needs no LOS. LOS simply determines if you can shoot at the target, not the angle of the shot.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Your buddy, as others have said, is wrong, it doesnt need line of sight, but hits are worked out as though it had it, regardless of intervening terrain, hands, stroppy children etc
Everything you have been told is a lie!
I think the rule your referring to is the seeker missile rule, this states that for the purposes of targeting a vehicle no LOS is needed but a straight line is drawn from the seeker firing vehicle to the target for deciding which AV is used.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
Nowhere in the rules for SMS is the same thing stated, it simply says it can engage any target if it is in range and it does not need LOS. Strictly speaking you could argue that any part of the vrhicle is a viable target, but I for one would not play someone who insisted on using such a petty interpretation of the rule.
The seeker missile rule seems to make sense and I think because both missile systems work in the same way that the rule for selecting the AV would aaply to the SMS, it is also the sportsmanship option.
Yeah, you can fire them at anything within 24"... imagine them shooting and then going up in the air and doing a bunch of crazy loops and stuff and then crashing down into your target
Gloria Imperator, The Firstborn Stand!
- 2000pts Inquisition, 2000pts Vostroyans, 3000pts Vampire Counts, 1400pts Daemons, [WIP] 2500pts Death Guard