Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, if I assault a unit inside a city ruin, it gets ini 10 for the first turn. Now, let's say my unit is already in the city ruin and I attack another unit in the same city ruin, how does that work out? Technically, my unit is charging a unit in cover, yet it doesn't seem right that they would get ini 10!
Make sure you follow the rules for cover, which you seem to already know.Originally Posted by boreas
Even if you are charging from cover, you are attacking a unit in cover - it can be assumed that you're breaking from the cover of your spot (regardless of actual model placement) and charging at the enemy, who is still sitting behind cover waiting for you.
The enemy will still get I10 for being in cover, and you will not get any bonus that I can see in the rulebook. :yes:
Hope this helps.
This is correct, as far as I know. You are charging INTO cover. Regardless of where you are charging FROM. Take 'dem frag grenades.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
It would depend on how you classified the terrain. We frequently just call ruins size 1 or 2 area terrain meaning that two units already in the terrain do not gain cover bonuses from each other in assault.
However if you arne't playing it as area terrain, then the cover is being afforded from some type of modelling (low wall, big rocks, wrecked car, etc) then you can make the argument that the squad being assaulted retains the bonus of cover provided the assaulting squad doesn't move in from some direction that would negate the cover.
For example assaulting over a low wall gives the other unit cover, but moving around the side of the wall and assaulting from the flank negates it.
War Record Since Sept 2005
Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar
I don't think that's a good way to handle it, to be perfectly honest.Originally Posted by medic_4077
If you're both in area terrain, according to the rules, and you charge the other unit, they still count as being in cover and get I10 - there is nothing to contradict this fact, and there is nothing in the rulebook even hinting at there being some advantage to charging from cover.
Seriously, think about it this way - you are sacrificing the cover you are in to burst out, regardless of where you're going, swords/axes/tentacles/claws drawn, in order to get an effective charge. You shouldn't have the advantage as you're attacking someone who's still dug in cover.
Just the way I see it. :yes:
It's a matter of the spirit of the "difficult terrain" rules. The point is, that there are things that would affect the mobility of your troops. Maybe its foliage in a woods or a low wall on a field, a bunch of rocks, mud, ice, loose sand, whatever. The fact of the matter is, when you are moving through, over, or around something like that, there will always be a chance that you will slip on something, or stumble, or in some way lengthen the time it takes to move clear of it. This gives an advantage to the other guy.
Actually I've seen this ruled at tournaments (even a GT) that if you assault a unit in area terrain, and the assaulting unit is in the same area terrain, that the unit being charged loses the I10. I have no idea where it came from, but it has shown up quite a bit.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Gotta love how often GW "staff" get the rules wrong.
Cover, including assaulting THROUGH cover, gives the receivers an init of 10.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)