Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a CoD game at my local GW store and this Ork guy says his Lemen Russ Demolisher was able to hit my lone HQ standing behind both squad of 3 other Crisis suit plus a squad of Pathfinders.
Can anyone explain why? Rulebook only states that the vehicle do not have to roll for target priority test, but does not interfere with the I.C. rule being able to target it even it's not the closest target.
The rulebook is clear on the fact that you may only target an IC if it it the closest target, just look unter the rules for characters, so in your example your IC would be untargetable.
Hitting and targeting are two different concepts, which did you mean?
You are correct that the LR could not target your Independent Character, but if he is under a template targetted on another squad he is still hit.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
This is true.Originally Posted by Corianis
An extremely popular tactic, it seems, is to use Guess weapons and other scattering Ordnance to hunt IC's - they can't be targeted, but they can still be hit, as Corianis said.
The Ork player can't claim that he's shooting at your IC unless he's the closest target - but if he targets another unit, and the template hits your IC, he should still be hit. Also, the template could always scatter onto him. :yes:
Right.. then he was scamming me.. I knew something was fishy when he declared his Lemen Russ demolisher attack on my HQ when there were 2 other squads infront of him. He literally placed the blast template over my HQ's head then rolled scatter dice .. (lucky he rolled a 6 for scatter.. :x or else I would've burst out and get a GW staff on his case)
Thanks for confirming it, he got me confused and I wasnt sure if I should ask one of the staff because if he was right then I would've been humiliating myself.. gah..
Beware of GW staff - half the time, I've noticed, they don't know the rules any better than you do.
I suggest that you show your opponent the page in the rulebook - page 51, under the heading Shooting At Characters - and notify him that this rule is in no way related to Target Priority tests. That should clear things up. :yes:
:cry: I have the hard cover rulebook ... I wish GW got those smaller version of the book on sale instead of having to pay $90 for the Battle of Macragge box set for it.