Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a few questions about using an auspex with infiltrating units.
First of all, if an enemy unit has the Scout's "free move," do I measure auspex distance before or after they move?
Similarly, suppose I put an auspex on my scout bike squadron. Do they get their free move before measuring auspex distance?
Next, suppose I put an auspex on infiltrators, but they infiltrate after the enemy infiltrators. Does the auspex still work?
And finally, does the auspex work on enemy units who have infiltrate, but have chosen to deploy normally?
Mostly this arose from a conversation with a friend over what "set up" meant under the auspex description in the SM codex. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Also, please let me know/forgive me if this is a terrible way to post questions, as this is my first post.
I'll do my best.Originally Posted by Vinny The FishI believe that the free move occurs after all infiltrating units are deployed. The auspex kicks in when a unit infiltrates nearby a unit with an auspex. The order which this takes would be:Originally Posted by Vinny The Fish1. normal deployment
2. 1st infiltrating unit
3. check ranges for auspex units and make any shots allowed
4. 2nd infiltrating unit
5. check ranges for auspex units and make any shots allowed
6. Repeat 2 and 3 for each infiltrating unit
6. free scout moves
7. start turn 1This is exactly what you just asked.Originally Posted by Vinny The FishI don't believe so. However, if they infiltrate before the other infiltrating unit, then they would be able to check if the auspex picks them up.Originally Posted by Vinny The FishIf they deploy at a time which their Force Organisation Category dictates, then no as they are not infiltrating. If they are held back during normal deployment, yet are still set up in their own armies deployment zone, then yes as they are still infiltrating.Originally Posted by Vinny The FishSet up is deployment. It is when a unit is first placed on a definite location on the playing surface (including inside a transport). An infiltrating unit is not just a unit which has the Infiltrate skill/ability, but one which also uses that ability. For example, during my deployment phase I set up one of my Tactical squads, then one of my 2 scout squads, then my other tactical squad, a scout bike squad and my commander. I wait until my opponent has finished his deployment (barring any reserves or infiltrators of his own), then I deploy my second scout squad using the infiltrating rules. The first scout squad is not infiltrating, the second is. If you have any units with an Auspex near my first scout squad, they do not get to make an Auspex range check, if they are near the second scout squad, then they can. After all these checks the deployment phase ends, I get my free scouts move with my scout bikes, then turn one starts.Originally Posted by Vinny The FishYou set out your question clearly and consicely, without spelling or grammatical errors (some of those are acceptable as long as you try; some people don't try at all). The only piece of redundant information was how you asked a general question and then the same question again referring to a specific situation. Either is fine, both are not needed. I must stress though, that is an extremely minor thing and I only mention it because you asked whether you had improperly phrased your post.Originally Posted by Vinny The Fish
Finally, welcome to the forum Vinny. I hope (and am sure) that you will enjoy it here (silly isn't it, I'm talking like t is an actual place).
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
Look at it this way, the Asupex works on infiltrating units, not infiltrated units!Originally Posted by Vinny The Fish
Your post was nicely laid out, better than about half of the average posters! So ph33r not!
Welcome aboard! Theres always room for one more at LO!
And just in case you haven't read them yet, here are the forum rules!
Hav a Nive day.
Thanks a lot. I really appreciate the help and the friendly welcome.