Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been trying to find out how pinning from gun drones works and after no reply from GW, I decided to try here. The rulebook and Tau Codex only very vaguely describe pinning. Please help me out
okay a gundrone has a twin-linked pulse carbine. If you look under pulse carbines it says that any unit that takes at least one wound from it must take a pinning test. So if you roll to hit and hit and then roll to wound and you wound then they have to take a pinning test. It doesn't matter if they save or not they still take the test, but you have to wound not just hit.
u must make 1 wound....
that means u must kill somebody in the unit or cause 1 wound (that means they have to fail a save) to try and pin them
GREY KNIGHTS RULE!
Yes, you have to fail 1 or more armor saves in order to take a pinning test.
Also note that you must take 1 test for each squad firing at you that causes a casuality unlike moral test which are limited to 1 per phase.
wait a second what do you mean I thought that you rolled to wound. Then again that would make sense because some guys have multiple wounds. Hmmm very confusing because there are 2 times it could be claimed before the saving throw because you had just rolled to wound (save throw is to see if the model actually takes the wound) or after the save throw because that is when the model actually takes the wound. I'm not so sure after you people said I was wrong. I haven't really done much pinning. It says that any unit suffering at least one wound. I'll have to look in the rule book to see if I was wrong.
Sorry guys, i know what causes pinning. What I meant was what does it do to the nme suffering at least 1 wound from carbines? I should have been more specific.
I'm still not sure what you mean by "what does it do to the enemy?" It either wounds/kills one of them, and the unit checks for pinning, or it does nothing.
More specifically, without breaking any copywrite rules, it does this:
You check to see if you hit (BBB pg 45 - 47). If you do, then you roll to wound(BBB pg 4. If the weapon negates the armor of the target for whatever reason, then they are wounded. If the target's armor save is not negated (or they have a cover save), they make the appropriate save. If they make it nothing happens. If they don't make the save they are wounded (BBB pgs 49-55). Once wounded, if they have only one wound the model is removed as a casualty. More than one wound you just keep track of the wound (BBB pg53). Now that the unit has taken a casualty, they must check for pinning (BBB p 5. If they fail the check they suffer the effects of pinning (BBB pg 5.
Is that what you're asking about, or something completely different?
Jeez, I appreciate your help but I'm still not hearing the right thing. I guess what I'm asking for is what does pinning do to the nme. I know about the hitting and wounding part with the carbines. I know that the nme unit tests for pinning if they suffer at least 1 wound. But what does pinning do to that unit? Sorry if I'm still not clear.
Crap, btw, what is BBB? The rulebook or something? Sorry, I'm still pretty new to the game even after a year.
BBB = Big Black Book
Pinning = correct me if im wrong but I believe in game terms if a squad is pinned it may not move or assault, but can shoot. Im just trying to remember best I can, but I believe thats what it is.